• 63°

GRADUATION 2017: Gray Stone Day School scholarships

Students at Gray Stone Day School received the following scholarships:

Sarah Michelle Null: Campbell University Presidential Scholar.

Larry Daniel Harvey: Catawba College Presidential Scholar.

Madison Kaye Hunter: Catawba College Presidential Scholar and softball scholarship.

Michaela Domicia Patterson: Catawba College McCorkle Scholar and St. Matthews Lutheran Church Scholarship.

Sydney Grace Smith: Catawba College Presidential Scholar and Honors College.

Seth Joseph Wolter: Catawba College Presidential Scholar and Environmental Science Scholar.

Jacob Daniel Woodard: Catawba College Trustees Scholar.

Nicholas Edward Mork: East Carolina University Honors College.

Annie Burke Habeeb: Flagler College Presidential Scholar and women’s soccer scholarship.

Skyler Grayson Ingold: Hampden-Sydney College President’s Scholarship.

Christopher Chance Parrish: Patrick Henry Scholar and Eagle Scout Scholarship.

Angela Leanne Haynes: High Point University Presidential Fellow.

Olivia Carlisle Howard: Lees-McRae College Pinnacle Scholar.

Ashlyn Taylor: Lees-McRae College Kennedy Pinnacle Scholar and softball scholarship.

Madelyn Grace Mills: Laboratory Institute of Merchandising College Future of Fashion Scholarship.

Jennifer Carinda Kribbs: University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Roy and Lula Goodman Scholarship.

Shane Owen McManus: University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Covenant Scholar.

Anne Katherine Bargesser: University of North Carolina Charlotte Forgivable Educational Loans for Service for nursing.

Dmitry Sergei Tereshenko: University of North Carolina-Charlotte Levine Scholar.

Grasyn Anne Waisner: First Lutheran Church Scholarship.

Colin Andrew Moser: University of North Carolina Greensboro Katharine Smith Reynolds Scholar.

Charles Ryan Almond: Wells Fargo Scholarship.

Kissiah Amana Hampton: North Carolina Central University Sean and Dean Writers and Performance Scholarship.

Maira Iqbal Haque: Lydia and Michael Woody Scholarship and SACAC Extend the Dream Scholarship.

Michaela Lee Hill: Jennifer Cody Scholarship from Paul’s Crossing Baptist.

Jolei Shane Richardson: Pfeiffer University Prudden Scholar.

Angelika Mary Lindberg: Sweet Briar College Prothro Scholarship, Wylie Engineering Scholarship and Presidential Scholar.

Alyssa Marie Herlocker: Tennessee Technological University Honors College and softball scholarship.

Elisabeth Rose Harper: Texas State University Schwann’s Corporate Scholar.

Tyler Christian Heald: University of Texas, Dallas Academic Excellence Scholarship.

Lea Erin Alexander: Wingate University Presidential Scholar and Stanly County Baptist Association Scholarship.

Ashley Nicole Almond: Wingate University Trustees Scholar.

Kathrine Charis Helms: Irwin Belk Scholarship.

Savannah Shae Poole: Wingate University Trustees Scholar.

Sara Michelle Simpson: Wingate University Presidential Scholar.



Blotter: Man faces sexual exploitation charge for images on Instagram


Defendant convicted in attempted murder case on the run after fleeing from trial


Downtown Gateway Building to be renamed for late Paul Fisher


Rowan County COVID-19 data for April 15


Rep. Warren’s bill would prohibit parking in electric vehicle charging stations


Historic Preservation Commission approves Integro Technologies expansion, Paint the Pavement project


Faith Academy, RSS will negotiate over what goes, stays in elementary school


Teacher killed in Alamance County shootout with Mexican drug cartel


Bill would give more tax breaks on COVID-19 loans


No response as divers knock on capsized ship’s hull


Quotes of the week


Blotter: Man found on church property with litany of drugs


Man charged in connection to 2019 overdose death


‘It’s our big time’: Salisbury Farmers Market reopens Saturday


Schools capital funding still frozen as RSS sends local budget to county


Shields, Cheerwine Festival receive N.C. Main Street Awards


Duke University launches kidney disease study in Kannapolis for people of African descent


Horizons Unlimited will hold in-person summer camps


Education briefs: Catawba planning for more in-person activities, free summer school tuition


County’s full COVID-19 vaccinations top 22,600

High School

High school golf: With Merrell, Mustangs back on top


Spencer investigating rat problem on South Iredell Street


Livingstone, Mission House Church to host national ‘Black Voters Matter’ listening session