• 70°

Area Sports Briefs: Parnell gets win

From staff reports

Bobby Parnell (East Rowan) pitched two scoreless innings for the  Triple-A Omaha Storm Chasers in his most recent outing and got the win.

Parnell is 3-2 with a 4.71 ERA. He’s struck out 17 and walked 13 in 21 innings, as he tries to make it back to the majors with the Kansas City Royals.

Parnell has 53 pro wins, including 20 in the big leagues.


Brandon Dulin drove in four runs and the Intimidators beat the Hickory Crawdads 6-1 on Tuesday night in Game 2 of a doubleheader at L.P. Frans Stadium  on Tuesday.

Dulin was 3-for-4 with two doubles.

The Intimidators (27-23) earned a doubleheader split after dropping Game 1.

The Intimidators offense struggled in a 1-0 loss to the Crawdads in the opener.

The Intimidators return home on Thursday.



Jordan Jankowski (Catawba) was the winning pitcher for the Houston Astros on Sunday for his first MLB victory.

Houston scored 11 runs in the top of the eighth inning to erase an 8-2 deficit and went on to win against Minnesota, 16-8.

Jankowski relieved in the fifth and survived the sixth and seventh despite allowing two homers and four runs. The Astros’ big eighth inning made him a winner, even though his night on the mound was done.  Luke Gregerson pitched the eighth and ninth.


Kansas City’s Whit Merrifield (Davie) had a double, triple and homer on Monday in a 10-7 loss to Detroit.


Kyle Seager (NW Cabarrus ) hit his fifth homer and drove in four runs in Seattle’s 10-4 win at Colorado on Monday.

Local golf

McCanless Couples:

In an ardent battle of the clubs, Lexi Miller, Ty and Bev Cobb were the leaders over the team of Terrol Kendall, Susan Wydner and Walt Kincaid.

Ty Cobb was closest to the pin. Walt Kincaid had the longest putt.

West Middle awards

Team awards were handed out to the West Rowan Middle School  boys 6th/7th grade team.

Casey Gouge: Coaches Award

Jason Artis: Most Improved

Nigel McManus and Noah Loeblein: Bulldog Award

Athan Gill: 6th Grader of the Year

Spenser Harrison: MVP.

The team’s 7-7 season was highlighted by a win against champion Mooresville  Other team members were Camden Stamper,  Peter Williams-Simpson, Tanner Poole, Robert Featherstone, Isiah Tenor, Josh Noble,   Paxton Greene, Adrian Stockton,   Matthew Connolly, and Justin Cole. Head Coach was Jerry Pittman. Assistants were   Mitchell Anderson and Jimmy Greene.


The T-H Marine FLW Bass Fishing League  tournament season continues Saturday, June 10, for Piedmont Division anglers with an event on High Rock Lake. Up to 400 boaters and co-anglers will compete for   awards of up to $8,000 and $3,000 respectively.

in the one-day tournament.




High School

High school football: Hornets overpower South to secure playoff spot


Jeffrey MacDonald won’t be released despite deteriorating health


Amazon warehouse workers reject union in Alabama


Ex-NFL player’s brain to be probed for trauma-related harm after Rock Hill shootings


Duke University to require COVID vaccinations for fall term


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Record night for Pinckney as East cruises; Carson wins thriller in OT


D-Day survivor, WWII torch bearer Ray Lambert dies at 100


Prince Philip was always defined by role as husband of British queen

China Grove

One dead, several injured after head-on collision in China Grove


Man, woman charged for selling drugs to undercover deputies


Blotter: Rowan County man charged with indecent liberties with children


Spencer town board gets look at Park Plaza progress


‘Applicant market’: Unemployment rate improving as businesses hire more workers


National, local business leaders praise Salisbury’s initiative to support Black-owned operations


Tillis has prostate cancer surgery


Adverse reactions surface from Johnson & Johnson vaccine


Expert: Lack of oxygen killed George Floyd, not drugs


Quotes of the week


Biden seeks crackdown on homemade firearms


Victim of former NFL player’s rampage wrote of faith, life’s fragility


Wrongly imprisoned man gets $750,000

High School

West falls to Statesville, finishes second in NPC


Middle, high school students head back to classes full time