Education Shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 25, 2017

Faith Elementary School

• Good Citizens: Alexandria Mitchell, Averie Dietz, Amaya Cerda, Greyson Bost, Brian Neely, Graham Webber, Aiden Barr, Kirston Swindle, Emeri Riley, Madison Legnon, Griffin Barber, Brian Parker, Lucy Blakely, Kyler Wilhelm, Destiny Bell and Riley Ferguson.

• Good Deed Doers: Zayne Peoples, Xzavier Olgesby, Gabe Lane, Ryan Noblitt, Lillian Kepley, Harley White, Ayden Blevins, Artie Fain, Jack Malin, Tyler Royce, Aleah Fields, Ethan Webb, Karlee Miller, Tristin Clawson, Leala Sellers, Nate Potvin and Aiden Michael.

Hanford Dole Elementary School

Hanford Dole has recognized the following students who have achieved iRead 80 by April 23. Each student had a yard sign placed in his or her yard by the school staff. A number of these students have surpassed the iRead 80 score by having completed reading articles of 100 or more.

• Third grade: Kaleb McKubbin, Logan Luther, Alvaro Ortiz Salazar, Makayla Connor and Sadie Lapuz.

• Fourth grade: Joseph Hernandez Baca, Christian Rosado, Chloe Bradley, Britney Mendoza Perez, Mauricio Rosales, Isaiah Allen, Kaitlin Overcash, Toni Connor, Tatiana Green and Cameran Key.

• Fifth grade: Madison Krider and Jonathan Napoles.

Scholarship winner

The 2017 Morgan R. Gray Memorial Scholarship recipient is Austin Wagoner, a 2014 graduate of Faith Christian School and 2017 graduate of Pfeiffer University.

While in high school, Wagoner was a member of the Eta Sigma Alpha Delta Epsilon National Honor Society, participated in mock trial and earned his black belt in tae kwon do. He graduated with university honors at Pfeiffer with a bachelor of science in criminal justice and minors in history and sociology. Wagoner graduated cum laude and was a member of the Ray Harrington Criminal Justice Club and Rowan County Teen Court.

Wagoner is the son of Donnie and Sandra Wagoner and grandson of the late Bob Dietz and David and Mary Clark. Wagoner will use the $925 scholarship to attend Elon University School of Law.

The Citadel

Kevin Kondek of Salisbury and Franklin Wright of Rockwell were among those who received degrees from the Citadel’s South Carolina Corps of Cadets on May 6 in McAlister Field House. The South Carolina Corps of Cadets celebrated the graduation of over 551 cadets, seven active-duty students and 23 veteran students.

University of Kansas

Kathleen Powell of Salisbury was awarded a master of science in education degree from the University of Kansas on May 14.

Troy University

Caroline Chilton of China Grove has been named to the Provost’s List at Troy University for the spring semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

The Provost’s List honors full-time undergraduate students who are registered for at least 12 semester hours and who have a grade point average of at least 3.65.