• 55°

Cannon School graduates Class of 2017

CONCORD — The Class of 2017’s 102 seniors celebrated Cannon School’s 19th upper-school commencement May 19 at the school’s Poplar Tent Road campus in Concord.

The commencement address was delivered by Dr. Kristin D. Baker, who has practiced psychiatry in Concord for 23 years. Baker is the mother of graduating senior Michael Baker, as well as Leah Baker of the Class of 2013 and Kelli Baker, 2015.

Taylor Brooke Stevanovski of Cornelius delivered the valedictorian address. Taylor is the daughter of Robert and Sonya Stevanovski. Taylor will attend Duke University in the fall.

Miriam Imani Wahid of Salisbury delivered the salutatorian addresses. Miriam is the daughter of Roc Wahid and Joan St. John and will attend Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Cannon School is a private independent junior kindergarten through 12th-grade college preparatory institution. It has 1,000 students from Concord, Davidson, Cornelius, Huntersville, Mooresville, Charlotte, the University City area, Kannapolis and Salisbury.

Cannon School’s Class of 2017 includes:

Kendall Leanne Applegate, Michael McKinley Baker, Cole David Batchelor, Morgan Grace Batley, Justin David Boyd, Paige VanDusen Brenner, Artemas Brown, Allison Lora Bunten, Timothy Steven Bunten, Olivia Hammond Burch, William Parker Cain, Lilly Blake Cates, Matthew Gregory Chaiken, Austin Louis Cindric, Amelia Katherine Clark, Taylor Marie DeBord, Cory Raheem Charleston Deveaux, Jacob Ryan Diehl, Jakob William Diskin, Dean P. DiVitis, Campbell Taylor Dixon, Julia Rose Dunn, Anne Elizabeth Earnshaw, Rose Marilyn Edmondson, Mary Margaret Edwards, Ryan Patrick Emerson, Bryce Rodgers Estes.

Trevor James Fernald, Chandler Reid Frazier, Ellen Jamieson Gordon, Dylan Alexander Grupinski, Jack Everett Gularson, Sarah Abigail Gularson, Mackenzie Grace Hanby, William Andrew Hansen, Camille Elizabeth Harley, Joseph Miller Hilbish, IV, Alexandra Frances Holloway, Chase Stuart Huseby, Jordan Gregory Johnson, Percival Isaiah Johnson, Kevin Joseph King, Emerald Elizabeth Konikoff, Eva Grace Kozlowski, Kalissa Rae Kufner, Alexandra Bishop Kuralt, Allison Elizabeth Kuralt, Catherine Grace-Chesson Kuralt, Adam Chapin Kurtz, Katherine Sloan LeClair, Camden Elizabeth Lee, Julia Meira De Vasconcelos Liborio.

Catherine Emma Livingston, Courtney Leigh Luckwaldt, Taylor Je’ nae Lumpkins, Sean Daniel Lytle, John Clay Maguire, Maren Margaret McCrary, Harry Stanton McKay, II; Philip Dinage McKenzie, Raquel Mary McLeod, Claudia Lyons Michaels, Alexandria Marion Mills, Hannah Cathleen Nelson, Jonathan David Nephew, Samuel Key Norvell, Makenzie Claire O’Brien, Zachary Michael Olguin, Nicholas James Parenica, Brian Changeun Park, Kieran Savitri Patel, Lauren Ellen Peace, Danielle Gene Phillips, John Dalton Phillips, III; Melanie Ly Piisner, Graysen Barrett Pomykata, Zachary Ryan Ranson, Andrew Mark Redding.

Karlie Faith Redfern, Olivia Lucille Reiff, Noelle Marie Ross, Joseph Flynt Russell, Payton King Ryan, Sarasota Eastis Serulneck, Summer Ann Shinn, Michael Gabriel Sofio, Taylor Brooke Stevanovski, Leah Erin Sussewell, Ayesha Syed, Tyler Tharp Terveer, Greyson Jordan Thompson, Lindsey Rose Turbyfill, Grace Seth Turner, Jaleel E’San Usher, Zachary Alford Venos, Miriam Imani Wahid, Morgan McKenzie Waite, Taylor Rose Watson, Harris Barton Wellborn, Griffin Thomas Wickwire, Joseph Patton Wilson and Madeline Johanna Zandhuis.


Ask Us

Ask Us: When will North Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue be resurfaced?


Political Notebook: Rowan’s lawmakers pass 140 bills into the opposite chamber before deadline


Police chief to present use of force policy; city manager to present 2021-22 budget


Botter: Rockwell man arrested on charges of felony larceny, possession of stolen vehicle


CDC director says mask turnaround based solely on science


Catawba College hosts three in-person commencement ceremonies


With high case loads causing numerous staff departures, Child Protective Services seeks more positions


Livingstone College graduates celebrate ‘crossing the finish line’ during commencement celebration


Rowan sees 4 new COVID-19 deaths as mask mandate lifted, vaccines administered continue decline


Spencer is latest town updating its development ordinance


Salisbury native Kristy Woodson Harvey makes NY Times bestseller list


Board of Commissioners will convene for third time in May


Biz Roundup: Salisbury, Kannapolis among recipients of Region of Excellence Awards


Cheerleading team competes at Disney


Salisbury High to celebrate football, swimming champions with parade

High School

High school girls soccer: Isley, Webb lead all-county team


Spencer awarded $10,000 to develop trails at Stanback Forest


‘Tails and Tales’ coming to library this summer


Public Records: March Deeds


Salisbury Symphony’s ‘Return to the Concert Hall’ available May 24-31


Salisbury teen becomes one of first in age group to receive COVID-19 vaccine


Local farm and creamery poised to add goat yoga, artisan goat cheese to offerings


Pandemic’s impact, uncertainty of transit funding prompt request to eliminate Rowan Express service


New Waterworks’ exhibit opens June 1