Chamber of Commerce announces Leadership Rowan graduates

Published 12:01 am Saturday, May 20, 2017

SALISBURY — The Rowan County Chamber of Commerce has announced the graduates of its 2016-2017 Leadership Rowan class.

The class, which contained 27 participants, completed a nine-month-long program. Armed with new knowledge, connections and perspectives, Leadership Rowan graduates are prepared to take their places as effective community leaders.

“We are extremely proud of the history and success of Leadership Rowan with over 500 graduates of the program,” said Dustin Wilson, the steering committee chairman. “This year’s class marks 24 years of Leadership Rowan graduates serving our community.”

Graduates of the 2015-2016 Leadership Rowan Class are as follows: Dominique Bates, Rowan-Salisbury Schools; Brian Brady, Chandler Concrete Company & Building Supply; Kellie Cartwright, Rowan County Government; Alex Clark, Gemstones Academy & Compass; Mark Deaton, North Carolina Transportation Museum; Shawn Edman, Novant Health Rowan Medical Center; Shari Evans, Pregnancy Support Center; Heather Fidler, Partners in Learning Child Development Center; Mike Fisher, Novant Health Rowan Medical Center; Jacira Garner, City of Salisbury; Scott Grant, DataChambers, LLC; Renee Gray, Tender Hearted Home Care; Leslie Honeycutt; Novant Health Rowan Medical Center; Ken Ingle, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College; Jeanne LeMaster, Rowan Helping Ministries; Stephanie McNeil, Livingstone College; Melva Menius, NC Cooperative Extension; Lisa Moose, Carolinas HealthCare System NorthEast; Marcus Neubacher, North Carolina Transportation Museum; Katie Scarvey, Lutheran Services Carolinas; KC Scott, Rowan County Literacy Council; Chris Shelton, Life Church; Nicole Sherrill-Jamison, NSC Behavioral Concepts; Alyssa Smith, Community Care Clinic of Rowan County; Chris Tester, City of Salisbury; Shaina Vail, Partners in Learning Child Development Center and Jessica Walker, W.G. “Bill” Hefner VA Medical Center.

The deadline to apply for next year’s Leadership Rowan Class is Thursday, May 25, 2017.

The Chamber’s Leadership Rowan Steering Committee will select the class. Members of the Steering Committee are: Chair- Dustin Wilson, Chick-fil-A; Kelly Baker, City of Salisbury; Wendy Brindle, City of Salisbury; Alisha Byrd, Gemstones Academy & Compass; Bob Cartner, Chandler Concrete Company & Building Supply; Danelle Cutting, NC Cooperative Extension; Deborah Johnson, Livingstone College; Nick Means, F&M Bank; Amy Smith, Rowan County Government; and, Janet Spriggs, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.

For more information on the Leadership program, contact Charlene Deese at the Rowan Chamber at or 704-633-4221.