Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 11, 2017

Hanford Dole Elementary School

Hanford Dole Elementary School has recognized the following students as May Good Citizens for the character trait of respect. Each student received a personalized certificate and had his or her picture on the Good Citizen board for the month. Hanford Dole’s Communities in Schools coordinates the monthly program.

Pre-kindergarten: Giselle Hernandez Baca.

Kindergarten: Christopher Castillo, Bella Evans, Avyon Flagg, Bryan Napoles and Jazireon Sanders.

First grade: Stacy Cuevas-Ameca, Aurora Holt and Joshua Blakney.

Second grade: Adan Arguello De La Cruz, Madison Brewer, Caden Burns and A’Dorian Davis.

Third grade: Marquez Brand, Christopher Sanchez, Sarah Peeler, Ja’mih Tucker and Ethan Vilte.

Fourth grade: Isaiah Allen, Donald Horton and Cameron Daughtry.

Fifth grade: Keira Smyre, Lanie Davidson and Ahmad Cruse.

Gray Stone Day School

Gray Stone Day School recently ranked 15th in North Carolina on the Washington Post’s list of Most Challenging High Schools. The school also ranked 420 in the nation.

Millbridge Ruritan Club scholarships

The Millbridge Ruritan Club recently awarded eight scholarships at its May meeting. Six scholarships, each valued at $750, were awarded this year to three high school seniors from South Rowan High School and three seniors from West Rowan High School.

This year’s winners from West Rowan are Leyna Pence, Mallorie Hatfield and Robert Cogburn. The winners from South Rowan are Cheyenne Hunter, Austin Chrismon and Madison Fuller.

The seventh scholarship, valued at $600, is awarded under the Ruritan National Foundation’s Build Your Dollar Grant Program. This year’s winner is Bryson Pope from West Rowan High School. The Build Your Dollar Grant Program allows the local club to receive matching funds from the national office to award a grant. More than 400 awards are made annually across the country.

The eighth scholarship, valued at $1,000, was awarded in memory of Ann White. White was a longtime member of Millbridge Ruritan Club. She lost her battle with cancer three years ago and is remembered for her caring and compassionate gifts to the club and community. This year’s winner is Madison Temple from South Rowan High School.

Eight students were awarded scholarships by the Millbridge Ruritan Club. Submitted photo

Catawba student selected for summer vocal institute

Catawba College sophomore Taylor Kroop of Boynton Beach, Florida, has been selected for the Torggler Summer Vocal Institute at Christopher Newport University (Virginia). Kroop is pursuing the bachelor of fine arts in musical theater with a minor in music. She was also selected for a talent-based scholarship to attend the event.

At the Torggler Summer Vocal Institute, students will take voice lessons, coaching and master classes taught by leading performers, teachers and scholars. They also have two private lessons per week in a chosen discipline. A maximum of 50 selected students will participate.

Kroop is a member of the Catawba Singers and has performed in several theater productions at Catawba.

Local resident named Fullbright Scholar

Kathryn “Katie” Cater of Salisbury, a student at University of Alabama, recently received a Fulbright Award for research and study during the 2017–18 academic year.

Cater will conduct research on bacteriophage therapy for treatment of antibiotic-resistant infections in Poland. She is a University Scholar who will complete her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in biology in 2017.

Gardner-Webb University

Gardner-Webb University recently honored undergraduate students for academic excellence and outstanding service and leadership. Winners of these awards exemplify the university’s core values of faith, service and leadership in their classrooms and communities.

Awards were presented to the following students from Rowan County:

Nate Allman of Salisbury, a senior political science major, was recognized for serving as treasurer of the Student Government Association in 2016-17. He was honored for his service as a presidential associate.

Jake Kennedy of Mount Ulla, a junior business administration major, was recognized as the incoming president of the SGA. Kennedy served as parliamentarian for the SGA in 2016-17. At the Academic Awards Ceremony, he received the F. Keith Griggs Student Leadership Award. The award is presented to a junior who has exhibited outstanding leadership in classes and extracurricular activities and includes a scholarship in the amount of $500.

Caroline E. Fry, a senior marketing major from Rockwell, was honored with inclusion in the 2016-2017 edition of “Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.” Selection is based on academic achievement, participation and leadership in academic and extracurricular activities; citizenship and service to Gardner-Webb University; and potential for future achievement.

Celsea Lynn Reeder, a freshman biology major from Salisbury, received the Sherman Parrish First Year Chemistry Award. The award is given to a first-year student in recognition of achievement in general chemistry.

In recognition of the award presentation, winners may choose one book for purchase by Gardner-Webb’s Dover Memorial Library. The books are inscribed with the winners’ names and the date of the award presentation.

Bob Jones University

Kaitlin Lane of Landis and Elizabeth Weimer of Salisbury were recently named to the spring 2017 President’s List at Bob Jones University. To qualify for the President’s List, students must earn a 3.75 or higher grade point average for the semester.