Yesterday: NSSA winners in 1962

Published 12:00 am Monday, March 6, 2017

In this photograph from the Post files, Lindsey Nelson of NBC, left, and Red Smith of the  New York Herald-Tribune, hold plaques they received in Salisbury as National Sportscaster of the Year and National Sportswriter of the Year in 1962. The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association was founded in Salisbury, and Nelson and Smith won the national awards during the NSSA’s first four years of existence — 1959-62. The first NSSA awards banquet/ceremony was held in Salisbury in 1960. Last week, the now National Sports Media Association said it was leaving Salisbury effective April 1 for a new home in Winston-Salem. This year’s awards weekend will be held in late June in Winston-Salem.