Area Sports Briefs: All-SPC teams

Published 8:26 pm Saturday, December 24, 2016

From staff reports
West Rowan receiver Kortez Weeks and Robinson quarterback Josh Dale were named Co-Offensive Player of the Year for South Piedmont Conference football.
West Rowan linebacker L.J. Robinson was named SPC Defensive Player of the Year.
Co-Special Teams Players of the Year are Carson kick returner Brenden Westbrook and Hickory Ridge return man Brock Angel.
Cox Mill’s Josh Brosnahan was named SPC Punter/Kicker of the Year.
Robinson’s Joe Glass was named SPC Coach of the Year.
West Rowan placed nine players on the All-SPC team — Weeks, Robinson, defensive backs Deyquan Byrd and Paris Hillie, offensive linemen Avery Allen and Jovan Lofton, running back Jovon Quarles and defensive linemen Devin Turner and Tyler Wheeler. East Rowan running back Max Wall, defensive back Wesley Porter and linebacker Christian Bennett made All-SPC. Carson’s all-conference players are DBs Westbrook and Andrew Jerman and linebacker Isaac Bell. QB Austin Chrismon represented South Rowan on the all-conference team.
Robinson all-conference players are Dale, Blake Furr, Justin Allamby, Elijah Hinson, Grady Price, David Mendiola, Trevor Byrum, Javonte Misenheimer and Baarkiar Anderson.
Concord all-conference players are Isaac Cochran, Jacob Irby, P.J. Hall, Antonio Campbell, Rick Sandidge, Justin Nicholson and Hamsah Nasirildeen.
Hickory Ridge all-conference players are Angel, Dan Louba, Trevor Shue, Connor Helm, Jarett Garner, Donovan Hayes, Jack Wallace and Cal Wallerstedt.
Central Cabarrus all-conference players are Demarcus Alexander, Justin Underwood, Clay Bigham and Hakim Blakeney. Cox Mill’s all-conference players are Brosnahan, Austin Craft and Jessie Malit. Northwest Cabarrus all-conference players are Ben Coates III and Hunter Foreman.
Robinson won the conference championship.

SPC volleyball
Carson’s Kelan Rogers was named SPC Coach of the Year for volleyball.
Cox Mill’s Courtney Weber was named SPC Player of the Year.
Carson’s Elena Turnbull, Mallory Weast and Lindsay Elmore made the All-SPC team, along with West Rowan’s Tori Hester, South Rowan’s Hannah Lambert, East Rowan’s Jordan McCall, Cox Mill’s Alison Siersma, Lauren Phillips, Taylor Rowland and Courtney Weber, Hickory Ridge’s Kathryn O’Connell, Rami Mullen and Alonna Clouse, Northwest Cabarrus’ Brittany Carpenter and Robinson’s Vanessa Blas and Chemaiya Jordan. Cox Mill won the conference championship and the state title.

SPC cross country
West Rowan’s Andrew Burgess, Nathan Zauner, Thomas Waldo, Cade Harrill, Cameron Butler and Oscar Bautista made All-South Piedmont Conference.
East Rowan’s Sean Incardona and Ross Alexander made All-SPC, along with Carson’s Jonah Evans.
Northwest Cabarrus’ Ethan Bemis and Logan Bemis and Hickory Ridge’s Kevin McLaughlin Made All-SPC.
Cox Mill’s Jack Trabucco is the SPC Runner of the Year.
West Rowan’s Scott Foster was named SPC Coach of the Year.
West Rowan won the conference championship.
In girls cross country, Carson’s Taylor Wiggins was named SPC Runner of the Year.
Carson’s Taylor Conrad made All-SPC, along with South Rowan’s Madison McGuire, Hickory Ridge’s Kaitlyn Schmidt, Kennedy Poppler, Jordan Cruce, Isabella Saliba, Northwest Cabarrus’ Mikenzly Specht, Meghan Rhoney and Ashleigh Thomson, Cox Mill’s Jessie Connick, Central Cabarrus’ Jennifer Mohler and Concord’s Allyson Halbach. Hickory Ridge’s Jenny Schmidt was named SPC Coach of the Year. Hickory Ridge won the league championship.

SPC girls golf
Carson’s Micah Furr is the South Piedmont Conference Golfer of the Year.
Cox Mill’s Moses Smith is the SPC Coach of the Year.
Other member of the All-SPC golf team are East Rowan’s Camryn Corriher, Cox Mill’s Jaidan Rubinstein, Ashley Barnard and Savannah Lord, Hickory Ridge’s Maddie Hayes and Sarah Deese, Concord’s Claudia Bare, Robinson’s Caroline Hastings and Central Cabarrus’ Lara Mullis.
Cox Mill won the conference championship.

SPC girls tennis
West Rowan’s Payton Holt and MacKenzie Koontz, Carson’s Emily Sloop and Gabi Jolly and East Rowan’s Katie Barnes and Angel Scialdone made the All-SPC team, along with Concord’s Kate Earnhardt, Molly Handler, Maya Haynes, Andrea Brenk, Izzy Norman and Adelle Patten, Cox Mill’s Valentina Morales and Hickory Ridge’s Lily Edwards.
Earnhart, the 3A state champ, is the SPC Player of the Year. Concord won the league championship. Concord’s Pam Beecher is the SPC Coach of the Year.

SPC boys soccer
South Rowan’s Cameron Corriher is the SPC Goalkeeper of the Year.
Concord’s Esteban Clemente is the SPC Player of the Year.
Coaches of the Year are Cox Mill’s Eric Carothers and Northwest Cabarrus’ Harald von Klahr. Other All-SPC players are Carson’s Khalid Myers, South Rowan’s German Delgado and Adrian Figueroa, East Rowan’s Alex Kalogeromitros, Cox Mill’s Colin Noone, Zach Savage and Max Haskins, Northwest’s Memo Pacheco, Alex Gomez, Brandon Esparza and Zach Roux, Concord’s Mark Panner, Imer Avila and Kevin Sandoval, Hickory Ridge’s Weeb Isaac, Caleb Gillespie, Dalton Parnell and Luke Trivette, Robinson’s Daniel Rivera and Central Cabarrus’ Victor Garibo.
Cox Mill won the conference championship.