Ceremony marks admission of Catawba students into teacher education program

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 3, 2016

SALISBURY — Thirty-one Catawba College students were honored in a formal pinning ceremony held in Tom Smith Auditorium on Oct. 25. This event marked admission to the teacher education program at Catawba College.

The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE). Anthony Johnson, the 2016 Rowan-Salisbury School System Teacher of the Year, made a presentation entitled “The Innovative Classroom.” The event was followed by a reception in the Delhaize Atrium, sponsored by Catawba’s Goodman School of Education.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS CORE standardized tests of reading, writing and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.75 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba include: Stephen Beaver, Salisbury; Chandler Bradshaw, Advance; Shawn Burdick, Mooresville; Zachary Camerino, Concord; Megan Chichester, Salisbury; Daniel Cline, Concord; Jacob Crews, East Bend; Rebecca Doherty, Wendell; Majel Errante-Wolfe, Salisbury; Brianna Gordon, Chapel Hill; Megan Hampton, Hamptonville; Blanca Hidalgo Hernandez, Salisbury; Emilee Isenhour, Salisbury; Brianna Johnson, Statesville; Carrie Loman, Salisbury; Bryan Morris, Concord; Karrie Reifschneider, Mooresville; Kristen Rocko, John’s Creek, Ga.; Kaitlyn Soard, Mocksville; Kacie Stamey, China Grove and Kristy Williams, Salisbury.

Those pinned from Catawba’s Birth-Kindergarten Program include: Caroline Bishop, Lexington; Tamila Crowder, Rock Hill, S.C.; Kristy Galusha, Kannapolis; Deanna Hill, Thomasville; Jayme Himes, Trinity; Melissa Hinson, Landis; Danielle Mauldin, Kannapolis; Brandy Shoaf, Lexington; Emily Stanley, Kannapolis and Sara Wood, Lexington.

The faculty advisor for the SNCAE organization is Amanda Bosch. SNCAE officers for the 2016-2017 academic year include Chad Springer, president-elect, China Grove; Michaela Fink, secretary, Salisbury and Megan Hampton, treasurer, Hamptonville.