Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, October 13, 2016

Daughter of Salisbury native wins presidential award



Gail Bost Vawter is the recent recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching in Washington D.C. for her work at Springfield Middle School in Fort Mill, S.C. Bost Vawter is the daughter of Lucious Ray Bost and step-daughter of Velma Tackett Bost of Stokes Ferry Road, Salisbury. She is a 1976 graduate of East Rowan High School, and credits her success in science teaching to Mr. Wellman of Erwin Middle School and Jerry Peck and Pat Barrow at East Rowan High. The Presidential Award for Excellence is the nation’s highest honor for math and science teachers.

Knollwood Elementary

Every month one student from each class is recognized for a character trait. These students will be presented with a certificate for the month and attend the quarterly character social. The character trait for September was responsibility.

Kindergarten: Bella Smith, Anastasia Aldridge, Larkin Walker and Alaia Guadalupe Gonzalez.

First grade: Raegan Church, Brielle Surratt, Mia Sierra, Ashley Paulino Matias and Angelina Stayton.

Second grade: Giselle Jaimes Vega, Kenzey Smith, Almir Podzic, Elias Vega Silva and Anta Diao.

Third grade: Monserrat Pineda-Arzate, Jolenni Corporan, Jasmine Segundo Escobar, Shekinah Brooker and Bradley Klutts-Peeples.

Fourth grade: Kiberly Turcios, Diana Cruz-Monroy, Cassandra Williams, Trinity Gardner and Corbin Ballard.

Fifth grade: Vanessa Sanns, Iris Delgado Gonzasez, Karun Alvares Clemente and Jazmine Phillips.

Granite Quarry Elementary School

Granite Quarry Elementary School’s Good Citizens for October are:
Kindergarten: Makenzie Zimmerman, Marky Kate Okula, Alan Delgado and Raegan Dixon.
1st Grade: Jack Morris, Braylin Henderson, Angelo Baldwin and Windrefi Joya.
2nd Grade: Adaleigh Cornwell, JD Allen, Addison Longino and Corbin Krider.
3rd Grade: Madison Gooch, Victor Georgiev, Lily Kluttz and Jo Camacho.
4th Grade: Samuel Tamyo, Ashley Green, Blake Earley and Enijah Gibson.
5th Grade: Iysiss Oglesby, Dawson Albright, Waylon Eudy and Madison Graham.