• 61°

Five seats up for election on NC Court of Appeals

The Associated Press

In addition to one seat on the state Supreme Court, North Carolina voters next month get to choose who will hold five seats on the state Court of Appeals. The 15-member intermediate appeals court sits in three-judge panels to hear cases.

Four races feature an incumbent and challenger. A fifth race has three candidates because Court of Appeals Judge Martha Geer stepped down this year too late after the March 15 primary for another primary to be held to whittle the candidates down to two. Court of Appeals terms are eight years.

While Court of Appeals races remain officially nonpartisan, the Legislature recently passed a law putting each candidate’s party affiliation on ballots. Supreme Court races still don’t provide those designations.

The Court of Appeals races on the ballot:

• incumbent Linda Stephens (Democrat) and Phil Berger Jr. (Republican), an administrative law judge.

• incumbent Bob Hunter (Republican) and Abe Jones (Democrat), a former Wake County Superior Court judge.

• incumbent Richard Dietz (Republican) and Vince Rozier (Democrat), a Wake County District Court judge.

• incumbent Valerie Zachary (Republican) and Rickye McKoy-Mitchell (Democrat), a Mecklenburg County District Court judge.

• Hunter Murphy (Republican and Waynesville attorney), Margaret Eagles (Democrat and Wake County District Court judge) and Donald Ray Buie (unaffiliated and Winston-Salem attorney). Wendy Enochs, who was appointed to fill out Geer’s position through the end of the year, is not running for the seat.



Rowan Wild’s animal camp makes a comeback at Dan Nicholas Park


Health officials say financial incentives helped vaccination rates; lottery drawing today

Granite Quarry

Granite Quarry adopts budget that keeps tax rate flat


Airport Advisory committee endorses plans for expansion at Mid-Carolina Regional

China Grove

China Grove will celebrate 40th Farmers Day with week full of festivities


Pistons win in NBA draft lottery; Hornets will get 11th pick


Officers in Locust arrest drivers who tried to flee; one was on motorcycle reported stolen from Rowan


Panel OKs NC Senate budget bill; Dems pan policy provisions


Letter: Journalist won’t join UNC faculty without tenure


Chase from Mooresville ends with crash at Rowan Mill Road; two charged


Dearmons gift two public art sculptures to city of Kannapolis


Blotter: Woman’s camper stolen from side of I-85


Local scouts sweep NC American Legion awards


As demand lessens slightly, local homebuilders work through challenges to deliver dwellings


Commissioners name Newberry Hall House county’s newest historic landmark


Senate budget uses NC revenue boon on more tax cuts, capital


Livingstone College alumna Quanera Hayes makes U.S. Olympic Team after first-place finish in 400-meter race


Blotter: June 21

Ask Us

Ask Us: What is status of ‘speed table’ on Charles Street in Spencer?


East Rowan High graduate killed in motorcycle crash


Political Notebook: Gov. Cooper vetoes Ford-backed bill allowing firearms at churches that are also schools


Blotter: June 20


Body of fourth tuber, age 7, found in North Carolina river


8 kids in youth van among the 13 lives lost to Claudette