• 70°

Newest county effort aims to unite Rowan’s 10 municipalities

By Josh Bergeron


SALISBURY — The Declaration of Independence remains an important document in American culture, but county leaders see a need for the opposite in Rowan.

A group of people have drafted a Rowan Declaration on Interdependence that aims to encourage cooperation among the county’s 10 municipalities. China Grove was the first to pass the measure during its meeting last week. It passed unanimously.

Reading the declaration during last week’s meeting, China Grove Mayor Lee Withers listed the various areas that the document aims to promote — invest in ideas that connect assets of various municipalities, leveraging assets in new ways that benefit all, collaborate, building an inclusive community and resolving controversies privately and quickly.

County Commissioners Chairman Greg Edds attended China Grove’s meeting to help present the declaration. In early 2017, Edds said groups of people would begin to work together on “things that have confounded Rowan County for a long time.” He included economic development, education and philanthropy in a list of examples.

In the end, Edds said the goal is to ensure children born in Rowan County want to return to the area after graduating from college.

After last week’s meeting, Edds told the Salisbury Post that the declaration aims to create “a more aggressive mindset, new habits of civic behavior and even an occasional leap of faith.”

“While the 10 communities that make up Rowan County have not had a strong history of working together, we now believe we have a unique opportunity to define our future together in new ways,” he said in a text message.

Edds said he would be presenting the declaration to each municipality over the next few months.

He declaration is based on a book called “Grassroots Leaders for a New Economy” — a book Edds has cited occasionally during his time as chairman.

In order to improve the quality of life and find new opportunities, Edds says it’s important for Rowan County’s 10 municipalities to work together.

“We believe we can greatly accelerate our success if we align our core goals and beliefs,” Edds said.

The 10 municipalities in Rowan County include: Salisbury, Kannapolis, China Grove, Cleveland, East Spencer, Faith, Granite Quarry, Landis, Rockwell and Spencer.

Contact reporter Josh Bergeron at josh.bergeron@salisburypost.com



Barnes gets new punishment of two life sentences in 1992 murder of Tutterow couple

High School

High school football: State’s top honor goes to Jalon Walker


Scout’s Honor: With dedication of flag retirement box, Salem Fleming earns Eagle Scout rank


North Carolina king, queen of NCAA lacrosse tourneys


Kannapolis seniors walk elementary schools


Local real estate company employees come out in force to build Habitat house


Quotes of the week


Auditors find oversight lacking for $3 billion of state’s pandemic aid


When will gas situation return to normal?


Rowan native Shuping posthumously receives Concord Police Department’s Medal of Valor, Purple Heart


GOP measure on penalties for rioting draws fire


Black high school softball player told to cut hair


State shows 303 COVID-19 deaths in Rowan


CDC: Fully vaccinated people can largely ditch masks indoors


One arrested, another hospitalized in Castor Road stabbing

China Grove

China Grove Roller Mill open for tours Saturday


Facing personnel deficiencies, local fire departments request tax rate increases


‘Panic buying’ creates gas supply shortages locally, statewide after pipeline cyberattack


Twice as nice: Planet Smoothie opens alongside Cold Stone Creamery in co-branded store


Spencer board gets update on South Iredell rat problem


West Rowan teacher awarded $15,000 outdoor learning grant


Town of Cleveland plans celebration May 22

High School

High school girls tennis: Busy Hornets win again easily

High School

High school softball: Nixon, Walton top all-county team