In the groove: Despite rain, annual Granite Quarry Fiddlers Convention a success

Published 12:10 am Monday, October 10, 2016

The 2016 Granite Quarry Fiddlers Convention was a success despite the nasty weather. Many came out participate in this year’s special 50th annual event. This year’s event highlighted the youth competition, bringing many first timers from as far away as Asheville, Boone and North Wilkesboro.
The proceeds from the event go right back into the community through donations to Granite Quarry Elementary School, Erwin Middle School and East Rowan High School. The Civitan Club hosts an Honors Banquet each year at East Rowan High School to award scholarships to many deserving seniors. It’s the only school in the district that awards students for academic achievements all funded through the Granite Quarry Civitan Club. There are numerous other charities that this event helps to fund.
The 2016 winners are:
The Don & Margaret Livengood Memorial “Award For Excellence in Bluegrass Music” — Will Palmer
The Ralph Pennington Memorial Best Fiddler Award — Josh Green
Youth Division
Youth champion band — Tender Grass
Champion fiddler — Abby Floyd
First runner-up — Teddy Smoker
Second runner-up — Jonah Chaney
Champion banjo — John Lee
First runner-up — Will Palmer
Second runner-up — Ayla Turney
Champion guitar — Jake Goforth
First runner-up — Gabe Bemus
Second runner-up — Jonathan Hoffman
Champion mandolin — Sam Davis
First runner-up — Abigail Hoffman
second runner-up — James Lee
Champion vocal — Maddy Davis
First runner-up — Anneli Burnett
Second runner-up — Elli Jones
Adult division
Champion band — Trail Blazers
First runner-up — Movin’ On Bluegrass
Second runner-up — Parlor House Band
Third runner-up — Gaining Ground
Champion fiddler — Josh Green
First runner-up — Tori Jones
Champion banjo — Tanner Carrick
First runner-up — Alex Edwards
Second runner-up — Jesse Groover
Champion guitar — Daniel Thrailkill
First runner-up — Terry Smith
Second runner-up — Howard Honeycutt
Champion mandolin — Jonah Horton
First runner-up — David O’Brien
Second runner-up — Ian Wright
Champion bass — Ricky Blackwelder
First runner-up — Lynn Powell
Second runner-up — Will Thrailkill
Champion dobro — Danny Hargis
First runner-up — Pammy D. Lassiter
Second runner-up — Sandy Hatley
Champion vocal — Beth Smith
First runner-up — Anna Haigler
Second runner-up — Courtney Perry