Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, September 29, 2016

Five Cannon School students named National Merit Scholar semifinalists

Five Cannon School students were named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. Semifinalists include Makenzie O’Brien, Sarasota Serulneck, Taylor Stevanovski, Miriam Wahid and Ayesha Syed.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Cannon School is a private independent junior kindergarten through 12th grade college-preparatory institution. It enrolls over 1,000 students from Concord, Davidson, Cornelius, Huntersville, Mooresville, Charlotte, the University City area, Kannapolis and Salisbury.

Student to play in All-National Honor Ensemble

Katie Howard, a student at East Rowan High School, was selected to play trumpet in the symphony orchestra for the National Association for Music Education All-National Honor Ensemble. According to a press release, these students represent the top performing high school musicians in the United States. Howard was one of 28 students from North Carolina selected to participate.

Hanford-Dole Good Citizens

Hanford-Dole Elementary has recognized the following students as September Good Citizens for the character trait of courage. Each student received a personalized certificate and had his or her picture on the Good Citizen board for the month. Hanford-Dole’s Communities In Schools coordinates the monthly program.

Pre-kindergarten: Giselle Hernandez.
Kindergarten: Elizabeth Amaya, Benny Rathbun, Janai Moody, Ayden Hamilton and Olivia Miller.
First grade: Jaden Bracken, Kelis Worth,  Paris Connor and Alexa Centeno.
Second grade: Caylie Shepherd, Sherlyn Nava, Zy’ona Lackey, Ahmya Walters and Kanya Cowan.
Third grade: Gregory Jefferies, Ah’Miyae Miller, Makayla Eller, Tucker Myers and Karsyn Burris.
Fourth grade: Jeremiah Kellam, Britney Mendoza Perez, April Chavez and Joz’lyn Taylor.
Fifth grade: Anaila Johnson, Taylor Parks and Amir Alexander.
Millbridge Elementary Good Citizens

Millbridge Elementary recognized the following students at Good Citizens.

Kindergarten: Drake Blackwell, Piper Blackledge, Ava Pritchard, Coen Overby, Gavin Miller, Noelle Ferguson, Addisyn Crowell and Noah Pittman.
First grade: Aubrey Wright, Liam Rohletter, Carson Raper, Finley VanWassenhove, Hope Julian, Carter Bellows, Maddox Houghton and Kaitty Benitez.
Second grade: Abigail Sotelo, Jonathan Lyerly, Ava Steel, Nicholas Smith, Keegan Strickland, Brylan Sloop, Trinity Maxwell and Bryce White.
Third grade: Zackary Pittman, Destiny Layton, Reagan Helmbold, Nolan White, Lana Grady, Gray Mullis, Zoey Bost, Nathaniel Thomas, Joseph Harris and Delana Burton.
Fourth grade: James Ritchie, Hannah Atwell, Joel Mills, Julia Keene, Dylan Smith, Bryan Ramirez, Addison Beaver and Marshal Faw.
Fifth grade: Ava Hinson, Logan Vega, Sara Pierce, Alex Ochoa, Kyndal Sigmon, Nate Good, Chloey Hallman and Adrian Barrera-Reynoso.