Chamber announces new Leadership Rowan class

Published 12:00 am Friday, July 15, 2016

SALISBURY — The Rowan County Chamber of Commerce has selected a record 30 member Leadership Rowan Class of 2016-17.

They will be the 24th class of the chamber’s program for established community leaders. Since 1992, Leadership Rowan “has ensured that the community’s most influential and esteemed leaders are knowledgeable about issues, well-networked and passionate about the success of the community,” the chamber said in a news release. Participants will spend 10 months going on tours and having hands-on experiences, “all with area leaders who take on our community’s biggest challenges every day.”

Armed with new knowledge, connections and perspectives, Leadership Rowan graduates are prepared to take their places as effective community leaders.

“We are extremely proud of the history and success of Leadership Rowan with over 550 graduates of the program,” said Dustin Wilson of Chick-fil- A, steering committee chairman.

The Leadership Rowan program will begin in August and run through May 2017. The 30 members of the 2016-17 class are:

Dominique Bates (Rowan-Salisbury School System); Brian Brady (Chandler Concrete); Kellie Cartwright (Rowan County Government); Alex Clark (Gemstones Academy & Compass): Mark Deaton (North Carolina Transportation Museum); Shawn Edman (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Shari Evans (Pregnancy Support Center); Heather Fidler (Cornerstone Child Development Center, Main); Mike Fisher (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Jacira Garner (City of Salisbury); Scott Grant (DataChambers, LLC); Renee Gray (Tender Hearted Home Care); Leslie Honeycutt (Novant Health Rowan Medical Center); Ken Ingle (Rowan Cabarrus Community College); David Jaynes (Town of East Spencer); Jeanne LeMaster (Rowan Helping Ministries); Stephanie McNeil (Livingstone College); Melva Menius (Rowan County Government/NC Cooperative Extension); Lisa Moose (Carolinas HealthCare System NorthEast); Marcus Neubacher (North Carolina Transportation Museum); Candace Salmon-Hosey (Rowan-Salisbury School System); Katie Scarvey (Lutheran Services Carolinas); KC Scott (Rowan County Literacy Council); Chris Shelton (Life Church); Nicole Sherrill-Corry, Ph.D (NSC Behavioral Concepts, LLC); Alyssa Smith (Healthy Rowan); Christopher Tester (City of Salisbury); David Toeppe (Bradshaw Financial Planning, Inc.); Shaina Vail (Partners in Learning Child Development Center); and Jessica Walker (VA Medical Center – WG (Bill) Hefner).

Class members will go on a two-day retreat Aug. 25-26 where they will participate in a “simulated society” exercise and get acquainted with other class members.

After the retreat, participants will attend a full-day session each month from September through May to enhance their leadership skills and knowledge of Rowan County.

Leadership Rowan is a leadership development program sponsored by the Rowan County Chamber of Commerce. The program is designed to prepare committed and qualified individuals to assume leadership roles in the county and to further enhance the abilities of existing leaders.

People completing the program are expected to volunteer their time and talents for community service.

“This program has proven itself many times over. Graduates of Leadership Rowan can be seen serving in positions of leadership all over Rowan County. We look forward to another great class,” said Wilson, the steering committee chairman.

Other members of the Leadership Rowan Steering Committee are: Kelly Baker (City of Salisbury); Alisha Byrd (Gemstones Academy); Danelle Cutting, (Rowan County Government/Ag Extension); Deborah Johnson (Livingstone College); Nick Means (F&M Bank); Amy Smith (Rowan County Government); and, Janet Spriggs (Rowan-Cabarrus Community College).

For more information on the Leadership Rowan program, contact Charlene Deese at 704-633-4221 or