Area Sports Briefs: Lyerly leads sectional qualifying

Published 1:08 am Wednesday, June 29, 2016

From staff reports
Nick Lyerly, a rising senior at East Rowan, shot a 4-under 68 in the first round of U.S. Junior Amateur sectional qualifying HELD at Asheboro’s Pinewood Country Club on Tuesday.
Lyerly made six birdies and two bogeys and is the leader by two shots.
Concord’s Stephen Carroll shot 74. Michael Childress and Charlie Barr shot 75s.
Corbin Hills
The Corbin Hills Women’s Golf Association hosted its annual Invitational on Tuesday with eight clubs participating.
The Captain’s Choice event was won by the team of Kristi Laton, Sherry Tarnok, Mary Seaford and Cathy Critz.
Second place went to the team of Phyllis Durland, Elaine Mullis, Bev Cobb and Suzette Pritchard.
Third place went to the team of Beth Calhoun, Lynda Sholar, Bert Wagoner and Carolynn Ries.
Fourth place went to the team of Treva Honeycutt, Jane Hendrix, Cindy Carmazzi and Dot Lambeth.
Fifty-nine GARS members played an ABCD Tournament at Warrior Golf Club.
‘A’ Flight winner was Bobby Clark with a net of 61.64. ‘B’ Flight winner was Lou Manning with a net of 62.43. ‘C’ Flight winner was Guy Schenck with a net of 59.95. ‘D’ Flight winner was Andy Griffin with a net of 59.23.
Bob Sidden made an eagle on the par-4, 263-yard No. 9 hole.
Donald Martin, Clark, Clive Mahaffey, Manning, Bill Saunders, Dick Hatoway, Schenck, Ralph Brown and O.J. shot scores lower than their ages.

All-State softball
A.L. Brown’s Kaitlin Moore, Ashlynn Stokes, Allie Baker and Kaylee Cook and Davie’s Kenzie Barneycastle, Olivia Boger, Sierra Ferguson and Bridgett Tierney were named to the 4A All-State team by the North Carolina Coaches Association.

Junior Legion
Carson scored four runs in the first inning and beat Stanly, 7-3, on Tuesday.
Garrett Alewine had two hits and two RBIs.
Brycen Holshouser pitched four strong innings. Sollie Holshouser and Brycen Holshouser combined for nine strikeouts.

Prep football
West Rowan graduate Kacey Otto, the Falcons’ quarterback, has been added to the roster for the East-West All-Star Game.
Otto was the Rowan County Offensive Player of the Year.

College scholars
UNC Pembroke’s Avery Locklear (basketball) and Alexandria Bare (golf), both South Rowan graduates, were named to the Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll.
The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes with a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.
All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00. Bare is a Silver scholar, while Locklear is a Gold scholar.

Kannapolis split with Rome on Tuesday, losing, 4-1, and winning the nightcap, 10-0.
Bradley Strong homered for the Intimidators in both games.
The Intimidators and Braves wrap up the series today at 12:05 p.m.