• 68°

Graduation 2016: South Rowan High School senior plans

South Rowan High School will graduate 231 seniors.

Appalachian State University: Michala Grant, Kylie Labbe, Katelyn Lipe and Lea Morris.

Art Institute of Charlotte: Logan Gravley.

Belmont Abbey College: Blake Johnson.

Berklee College of Music: Augusto Oropeza.

Catawba College: Kolby Fisher, Brennan Lambert, Autumn McGee and Abygail Rohletter.

Coastal Carolina University: Tristan Wyatt.

Davidson Community College: Kendall Dabbs.

East Carolina University: Colson Childers, Donte Hill, Seth Hollar and Peyton Penninger.

Employment: Staley Ashburn, Autumn Hamilton, James Luther, Aaron Montgomery, Christopher Ozuna, German Quinones, Anton Rouse, Joel Safrit and Hanna Starks.

High Point University: Josefina Gutierrez and Micah Helms.

King’s College: Ximena Bello, Machemeh Dolley and Aubrie Hunt.

Laurel University: Omar Curiel.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Gisselle DeLeon-Fraire and Alex Lentz.

Liberty University: Clayton Palmer and Brittany Walter.

Livingstone College: Najee Glover, Cristal Gonzalez and Maria Mason.

Louisburg Community College: Claude Stanback.

Methodist University: Randy Palacios.

NASCAR Technical Institute: Dylan Childers.

North Carolina State University: Austin Corriher, Kaleb King and Aleena Manning.

Other: Megan Lowder.

Pfeiffer University: Kailah Bradshaw and Leah Parker.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College: Jeremy Babela, Zenia Baird, Angelica Banda, Alicia Bautista, Corey Beaver, Miranda Belk, Amber Boulware, Megan Branham, Taylor Brewer, Tabitha Brotherton, Madison Brown, Hunter Butler, Jessica Butler, Austin Byars, Madyson Campbell, Damian Campbell, Mackenize Cohick, Rachelle Colas, Hailie Coleman, Rebecca Crocker, Samantha Deadmon, Hannah Dietz, Elena Fernandez, Summer Fitch, Nina Garcia, Jose Humberto Garcia-Badillo, Mitchell Garver, Tony Harrington, Owen Hartman, Cody Henry, Lindsay Herring, Yasmeka Howie, Brandon Huffman, Logan Isaacs, Ashley Jones, Jarrett Jordan, Summer Lambert, Allyson Leazer, Juan Lopez, Brittany Luckey, Kimberly Mancera, Victoria Marengo, Tyson McLaughlin, Kaitlyn Moore, Cynthia Morales, Joseph OKelley, Bessy Oliva-Munguia, Brandy Parker, Cory Parks, Maria Pelaez, Paige Presley, Aubree Pugh, Dylan Randall, CaroleAnne Reimer, Mason Roark, Bethany Roberson, Casey Robinson, Loren Rodgers, Brandy Samples, Andrew Sides, Dylan Smith, Hunter Smith, Bree Smith, Camden Snodgrass, Thomas Starnes, Zachary Tatarka, Victoria Torrence, Roxanna Ugarte, Mia Washington, Casey Williams, Trenton Woodie and Madison Yoder.

Undecided: Brian Cagler, Guadalupe Camacho, Devon Craddock, Jacob Daugherty, Abigale Fields, Savannah Goodman, Emilee Hernandez, Brianna Holland, Sarah Hughes, Taylor James, Michael Parks, Jesenia Quintana, Jashaya Roberson, Hunter Stutts, Valencia Washington, Marshall White and Malaysia Williams.

U.S. Air Force: Christian Bost, Mike Parks and Jakob Rodgers. 

U.S. Army: Kyla Downs, Gary Doyle, Michael Fields, Jacob Harrison, Nerissa Holland, Savannah Mesimer, Tiger Mysayakhom and Zechariah Roberson.

U.S. Marine Corps: Ian Blumenthal, William Drye, Landon Ingle, Stetson Johnston, Mark Milem, Chad Stadler and Gabe Welch.

U.S. Navy: Ashley Hancock, Matthew Hunter and Trevious Laquese.

Universal Technical Institute: Nick Darling and Carlos Diaz.

University of Georgia: Marshall Long.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte: Anna Cox, Andrew Eller, O’Hodge Garvin, Justin Greer, Kyra Hubert, Seth Long, Mandy Mills, Dillon Minehart and Annie Riddle.

University of North Carolina-Pembroke: Caitlin Chabala.

University of North Carolina-Wilmington: Kiala Dyer, Tyler Rary and Kamryn Stamey.

Wake Forest University: Emily Marin Quiterio.

Wake Technical Community College: Elizabeth Marlow.

Western Carolina University: Holly Barnes and Kendall Howard.

Wingate University: Heath Barringer, Kenize Crider, Tene Jordan and Hayley Roberts.

Winston-Salem State University: Morgan Brown.



Blotter: More than $100,000 in property reported stolen from Old Beatty Ford Road site


City fights invasive beetles by injecting trees with insecticide


City names downtown recipients for federal Parks Service grant

China Grove

China Grove Town Council weighs 2021-22 budget priorities, supports buying body cameras


Educators reflect on Teacher Appreciation Week


Livingstone College wins $30,000 Home Depot grant




Shield-A-Badge With Prayer program enters 26th year, accepting volunteers to pair with officers


COVID-19 infection, quarantine numbers in Rowan-Salisbury Schools reach new highs

High School

High school football: Offensive line came together for Hornets, who play for state title tonight


Pro baseball: White makes pro debut and says, ‘It felt amazing to be out there’


West Rowan Middle eighth grader wins investment writing contest


YSUP Rowan invites agencies to participate in youth-focused training


US backs waiving intellectual property rules on vaccines


As demand drops, Cooper visits vaccine clinic to urge usage


NC lawmakers advance bill barring mandatory COVID-19 shots


N.C. bill banning Down syndrome abortions nears floor vote


Rowan County sees 301st death from COVID-19


N.C. lawmakers advance bill barring mandatory COVID-19 shots


Rowan Public Library joins initiative to help people with digital connectivity


Mocksville to dissolve police department


Blotter: May 5


Salisbury’s McElroy named top city, county communications professional in state


Locals condemn use of force during 2019 traffic stop of Georgia woman