• 70°

Graduation 2016: Carson High School senior awards

Carson High School recently held its senior awards ceremony.

All County Scholars: Nickolas Cox, Morgan Hester, Garrett Ingold and Ashlee Wagoner.

Michael McDuffie Memorial Scholarship: Matthew Zucchero.

AkzoNobel Science Scholarship: Shirley Trayah.

Salisbury Alumni Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.: Nickolas Cox.

SECU “People Helping People” Scholarship: Shirley Trayah.

Rowan County Veterans Council American History Award: Garrett Pell.

Kendrick Smith Memorial Scholarship: Susannah Horton.

Bradley Barnhardt Memorial Scholarship: Ryan Bearden.

Salisbury Rotary Club Scholarship: Megan Livengood.

Rowan County Masonic Scholarship: Mallory Maycock.

Carson Public School Bible Teaching Association Scholarship: Alden Wright.

U.S. Marine Corps Awards: Distinguished Athlete Award: Morgan Hester, Zachary Marchinko; Distinguished Scholastic Excellence Award: Nickolas Cox, Garrett Ingold; Distinguished Semper Fidelis Award for Musical Excellence: Samantha Liddle.

Florence Kidder Memorial Scholarship: Shirley Trayah, Ryan Jones.

John A. Campbell Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Kathryn Hood.

“Be the Change” Scholarship: Shirley Trayah.

National Honor Society Scholarship: Mallory Maycock.

Agriculture Award: Allyson Baxter.

Carson CTE Student of the Year:  Holly Beaver.

Family & Consumer Sciences Award: Bailey Campbell.

Cabinetmaking Award: Rachel Gunsch.

Health Science Award: Caroline Brown, Damion Seagraves.

Business & Marketing Award: Brendan Hunter Hastings.

Masonry Award: Jacob McCurry.

English Award: Susannah Horton.

Mathematics Award: Garrett Ingold.

AP Biology Award: Garrett Ingold.

Social Studies Award: Patience Alley.

French Award: Katlyn Menius.

Chinese Award: Austin Surratt.

Spanish Award: Landon Perkins and Marysol Cardona.

Art Award: Eli Helms, Geddi Monroe, Rachel Gunsch and Kierstyn Buchanan.

Student Council Award: Graham Purcell, Landon Perkins and Fallon Ritchie.

Orange & Blue Crew Spirit Award: Fallon Ritchie, Landon Perkins, Megan Huffman, Graham Purcell and Holly Beaver.

Jesse C. Carson PTA Scholarship: Mallory Maycock, Megan Huffman, Hannah Cargill, Megan Livengood and Landon Perkins.

JCHS Booster Club Scholarship: Grayson Whicker and Kelly Short.

F&M Bank Scholarship: Kristen Cauble.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Scholarship for S.T.E.A.M: Haley Linker.

Dai Nippon Scholarship: Christian Stoner.

Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition: Morgan Hester.

NC Dept. Of Military & Veterans Affairs Scholarship: Dalton Cauble.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. Scholarship: Amanti Mills and Janae Bates.

Bethel Enrichment Community Center Scholarship: Nickolas Cox.

John A. Carter Memorial Scholarship: Rachel Coble.

Paul E. Fisher Honorary Scholarship: Megan Huffman.

Prudential Spirit of Community Award: Amery Barton.

President’s Volunteer Service Award: Amery Barton.

Jean Jordan Scholarship: Bryson Collins.

Eureka Masonic Lodge 283 Scholarship: Madison Full.

Francis B. Long Business & Professional Women Scholarship: Patience Alley.

Pogorzelski-Yankee Memorial Scholarship: Alden Wright.

Edwin Gray Martin Memorial Scholarship: Tabitha Smith.

IMF Treasure Feamster Scholarship: Amanti Mills.

Imagine America Scholarship: Steven Lash.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Educational Grant: Janae Bates.

Community Blood Center Scholarship: Graham Purcell.

Dare to Imagine Award: Eli Helms.

Faith Civitan Club Scholarship: Mallory Maycock.

China Grove Rotary Club Scholarship: Hannah Cargill.

Jesse C. Carson High School Principal’s Award: Rachel Gunsch.

Mt. Zion United Church of Christ George & Ada Fleming Scholarship: Eli Helms, Trilby Kirk, Graham Purcell, Fallon Ritchie, Mallory Maycock, Savannah Smith and Grayson Whicker.

Mt. Zion United Church of Christ Talbert & Dorothy Howell Scholarship: Austin Lear.

Mt. Zion United Church of Christ Frank & Mary Cress Scholarship: Andrew Lear.

PFLAG Russel Hellekson Jr. Scholarship: Victoria Isenhour.

PFLAG Founders Equality Scholarship: Shirley Trayah.

Post 9/11 GI Bill Scholarship Program: Holly Beaver.

SAT/ACT Hall of Fame: Garrett Pell, Garrett Ingold, Shirley Trayah, Ashlee Wagoner, Bryson Collins, Ryan Jones and Kierstyn Buchanan.

College and university scholarships:

Pfeiffer University: Colton Correll and Matthew Zucchero.

Barton College: Richard Dulin, Megan Bolick (Soccer).

Catawba College: Trilby Kirk, Amery Barton, Logan Parker, Robyn James, Morgan Hester (volleyball), Rachel Coble, Lexi Almond and Ryan Bearden (baseball).

William Peace University: Emmalee Morales.

Salem College: Sarah Hallett.

Lees McRae College: Justin Copeland, Hannah Cargill and Matthew Simerson.

Duke University: Nickolas Cox amd Garrett Ingold.

Valdosta State University: Kayla Sigmon.

Clemson University: Ashlee Wagoner.

University of North Carolina-Greensboro: Madison Full.

Wingate University: Morgan Robertson and Michael Morrison.

Montreat College: Alden Blackwelder and Adison Collins (golf).

Warren Wilson College: Maggie Hollar and Rachel Gunsch.

University of North Carolina-Pembroke: Ricky Maldonado (soccer).

Guilford College: Brandon Mock.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte: Zachary Marchinko (Track/Cross Country).

University of North Carolina-Asheville: Victoria Isenhour.

Fayetteville State University: Amanti Mills and Azure Windfield.

Averett University: Andruw Cain.

Belmont Abbey College: Sarah Freeze (softball) and James Reiff.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Katherine Tonnesen and Tera Pena.

University of North Carolina-Wilmington: Bryson Collins.

Johnson & Wales University: Jasmine Walters.

Eastman School of Music University of Rochester: Alden Wright.

Texas A&M University: Garrett Pell.


High School

High school football: Hornets overpower South to secure playoff spot


Jeffrey MacDonald won’t be released despite deteriorating health


Amazon warehouse workers reject union in Alabama


Ex-NFL player’s brain to be probed for trauma-related harm after Rock Hill shootings


Duke University to require COVID vaccinations for fall term


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Record night for Pinckney as East cruises; Carson wins thriller in OT


D-Day survivor, WWII torch bearer Ray Lambert dies at 100


Prince Philip was always defined by role as husband of British queen


One dead, several injured after head-on collision in China Grove


Man, woman charged for selling drugs to undercover deputies


Blotter: Rowan County man charged with indecent liberties with children


Spencer town board gets look at Park Plaza progress


‘Applicant market’: Unemployment rate improving as businesses hire more workers


National, local business leaders praise Salisbury’s initiative to support Black-owned operations


Tillis has prostate cancer surgery


Adverse reactions surface from Johnson & Johnson vaccine


Expert: Lack of oxygen killed George Floyd, not drugs


Quotes of the week


Biden seeks crackdown on homemade firearms


Victim of former NFL player’s rampage wrote of faith, life’s fragility


Wrongly imprisoned man gets $750,000

High School

West falls to Statesville, finishes second in NPC


Middle, high school students head back to classes full time