• 73°

Graduation 2016: Gray Stone Day School scholarships

Gray Stone Day School students earned the following honors:

Leadership, academic and church scholarships: Michaela Adcock.

Auburn University Presidential Scholarship: Cassie Bebout.

Auburn University Science and Math Scholarship: Cassie Bebout.

G.I. Bill: Jenna Biddle.

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Carolina Covenant Scholar: Catherine Blake-Harris.

Lee University Dean’s Scholarship: Veronica Boss.

Lettie Pate Whitehead Scholarship: Veronica Boss.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte scholarships and grants: Tyler Brewster.

Wingate University Trustee Scholarship: Shelby Burris.

Golden Leaf Foundation Award: Kristina Everhart.

Horatio Alger Scholarship: Kristina Everhart.

United Methodist Scholarship: Kristina Everhart.

Pfeiffer University Presidential Scholarship: Jordy Featherstone, Madison Hatley and Kristina Everhart.

Pfeiffer University Excellence Award: Jordy Featherstone, Madison Hatley and Kristina Everhart.

Duke Energy STEM Scholarship: Jordy Featherstone.

Western Carolina University Honors College: Rachel Fields.

Western Carolina University Distinguished Academic Scholarship: Rachel Fields.

Optimist Oratorical Speech Contest, second place: Summer Fleming.

Irwin Belk Scholarship: Bailey Freeburn and Summer Fleming.

Campbell University Presidential Scholarship: Megan Frick.

Campbell University N.C. Scholarship: Megan Frick.

N.C. State Academic Enhancement Grant: Rylee Furr and John Wallace.

N.C. State Institutional Grant: Logan Hammill.

Pfeiffer University Honors College: Madison Hatley.

Mars Hill University Academic Scholarship: Austin Herlocker.

Wingate University Legacy Award: Ashley Howell.

Wingate University Presidential Scholarship: Ashley Howell.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte Tuition Assistance Grant: Rachel Hudson.

First Baptist of Oakboro Scholarship: Rachel Hudson.

University of North Carolina grant: Rachel Hudson.

MSCI Scholarship: Sarah Hutton.

Richard F. Zopf Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Hutton.

Nathan Hunt Scholarship: Sarah Hutton.

Guilford College Grant: Sarah Hutton.

Guilford College Honors Scholarship: Sarah Hutton.

Guilford College Legacy Scholarship: Sarah Hutton.

Western Carolina University Tuition Grant: Lucas Isenhour and Mary Stuart VanHoy.

Methodist University N.C. Scholarship: Montana Kimrey.

Methodist University Academic Achievement Scholarship: Montana Kimrey.

Methodist University Pastor’s Certificate: Montana Kimrey.

Methodist University Presidential Scholarship: Montana Kimrey.

Alcoa Foundation Sons and Daughters Scholarship: Kelsey Kiser.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte Tuition Assistance Grant: Timothy Raquet.

Gardner Webb University Provost Scholarship: Cameron Reeder.

Gardner Webb University Presidential Scholarship: Celsea Reeder.

Ignite Excellence Award: Celsea Reeder.

Methodist University Presidential Scholarship: Micah Mason.

Granny Hill Memorial Scholarship: Micah Mason.

N.C. State Academic Enhancement Grant: Diana Mata.

North Carolina State University Tuition Grant: Diana Mata, John Wallace and Rylee Furr.

Kansas State University Honors Scholarship: Connie McDowell.

United Methodist Church of Matthews Scholarship: Emily Moore.

Methodist Scholarship: Emily Morris.

Emory & Henry College Trustee Scholarship: Emily Morris.

Emory & Henry College out of state grant: Emily Morris.

Emory & Henry College Theater Scholarship: Emily Morris.

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Carolina Scholar: Darien Paonessa.

N.C. Lottery Scholarship: Ashley Russell.

Federal grant: Ashley Russell.

Central Carolina Association of Realtors Scholarship: Ashley Russell.

Scott-Ellis Scholarship: Kayla Sloop.

Campbell University Administrative Campus Housing Scholarship: Kayla Sloop.

Holiday Caravan Scholarship: Kayla Sloop.

Asbury University Grant: Joshua Sutlive.

Savannah College of Art and Design Academic Honors Scholarship: Boyd Temple.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte N.C. Grant: Jared Thomas.

Universiy of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Institutional Grant: Lacey Turner.

N.C. Scholarship: Macayla Upright, Lychia Vang and Montana Kimrey.

Catawba College Presidential Scholarship: Macayla Upright, Lychia Vang and Abby Kluttz.

Catawba College Environmental Studies Scholarship: Macayla Upright.

Catawba College Environmental Science Scholarship: Abby Kluttz.

Catawba College Honors College: Macayla Upright.

Prudden Scholarship: Lauren Walker.

George L. Carter Scholarship: Brandy Wallen.

Appalachian State University Dean’s Scholarship: Ilya Wang.

Rowan County Alumni Scholarship: Ilya Wang.

Farthing Home Economics Scholarship: Ilya Wang.

Auburn University Heritage Scholarship: Morgan Webb.



‘Meet the need’: Rowan County Health Department looks to add to vaccination options


Seaford is first woman in county hired for town manager position since the ’90s


Colonial Spring Frolic makes a comeback to kick off museum’s year


Concord City Council wants to name bridge for fallen officer, Rowan native


RSS administration will recommend selling Faith Elementary property to charter school


Inspired by advice from father-in-law, Angela Mills launches her own business in memory of him


Rowan County Democrats re-elect leaders, pass resolutions


Baseball: Memories come alive in Ferebee book


Biz Roundup: Small Business Center announces spring slate of workshop for business owners


During Child Abuse Prevention Month, professionals reflect on detecting abuse in a virtual world


Kiwanis Pancake Festival starts Friday


Rowan fire marshal seeks to clear up confusion, worry caused by solicitation letter


Fun every day: Fifth anniversary for Yadkin Path Montessori School


Charles: Royal family ‘deeply grateful’ for support for Philip


North Carolina sites to resume J&J vaccines after CDC review


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Playoff time means get ready for ‘big-boy football’

High School

High school football: Hornets overpower South to secure playoff spot


Jeffrey MacDonald won’t be released despite deteriorating health


Amazon warehouse workers reject union in Alabama


Ex-NFL player’s brain to be probed for trauma-related harm after Rock Hill shootings


Duke University to require COVID vaccinations for fall term


Cooper OKs bill offering K-12 students summer school option

High School

High school football: Record night for Pinckney as East cruises; Carson wins thriller in OT