• 68°

Graduation 2016: East Rowan scholarships, awards

East Rowan High School recently celebrated its awards ceremony.

Appalachian State University: Ian Barrett and Tanner McNabb.

Dai Nappon Scholarship: Mason Basinger.

St. Matthew’s Church: Faith Blume, River Curlee, Cooper Grubb, Jackson Justus, Heather Lyerly and Sydney Trexler.

Appalachian State University: Faith Blume.

FBLA: Sarah Brady and Niklaus Pillsbury.

University of North Carolina-Greensboro: Sarah Brady.

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Julius W. Phoenix Scholarship: Kaitlyn Burgess.

Wingate Presidential: Joseph Brooks and Candis Newton.

Edwin E. Morgan: Devynne Brown.

SEER: Chance Brown and Yasmine Zefri.

East Rowan High School Jr. Civitan: Chance Brown and Avery Wright.

Randal Gore Memorial: Chance Brown.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte: Hailee Buffett.

Pennsylvania State University: Max Clark.

Catawba Academic Scholarship: Kelsey Diehl, Jonathan Hasty, Matthew Hipp and Cody Meadows.

N.C. State University: Rachel Eller.

High Point University: Corbin Elliott.

U.S. Military Academy appointment: James Emerson.

F&M Bank Merit: Zoey Fowler.

Roy and Lula Goodman: Susan Barker Fowler.

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill: Ike Freeman.

George Washington University: Addison Fry.

SADD: Lesley Gutierrez.

AMVETS Post 845 Ladies: Hunter Hipp.

Burger King Scholarship: Chelsea Hofmann.

University of North Carolina-Asheville: Chelsea Hofmann.

Catawba Trustee Scholarship: Courtney Hughes.

East Rowan High School Class of 1970: Kyle Incardon.

American Airlines: Lana Jackson.

Doug Gobble Memorial: Jackson Justus, Austin Love, Shelby Lowe and Jocelyn Lowe.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Jackson Justus.

Limestone College: Sawyer Kimmer.

Jean Fisher Poole: Austin Love.

Pfeiffer University Trustee Scholarship: Austin Love.

Granite Quarry Civitans: Jocelyn Lowe.

Powles Funeral Home: Chaney Lowe and Jamie Perez.

Rose L. Fink: Chaney Lowe.

Lenoir-Rhyne University: Jocelyn Lowe.

Rotary Scholarship: Heather Lyerly.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte: Alexis Martin.

State Employes Credit Union: Ashley Mayhew.

PEO Scholarship: Ashley Mayhew.

Salisbury Retired Teachers: Brittany McGee.

James L. White: Niklaus Pillsbury.

Delta Phi Theta: Samirita Pinckney.

Belmont Abbey College: Kelby Porter.

Christian Brother’s University: Brittany Riddle.

NCAE/RSAE: Benjamin Rollins.

Flagler University: Emily Seaford.

East Carolina University: Logan Shuping.

Liberty University: Brittany Small.

J. Michael McDuffie: Jordan Smith.

Margaret Basinger: McKenzie Stall.

PFLAG: McKenzie Stall.

College of Charleston: McKenzie Stall.

Rowan County Masonic: Sydney Trexler.

AMVETS Post 845: Sydeny Trexler.

SpecCon Systems: Sydney Trexler.

Randal Gore Memorial: Avery Wright.

Elon University: Sarah York.

Alpha Delta Kappa: Margaret Young.

Akzo Nobel: Yasmine Zefri.

Jerry Peck Memorial: Yasmine Zefri.



CDC: Fully vaccinated people can largely ditch masks indoors


One arrested, another hospitalized in Castor Road stabbing

China Grove

China Grove Roller Mill open for tours Saturday


Facing personnel deficiencies, local fire departments request tax rate increases


‘Panic buying’ creates gas supply shortages locally, statewide after pipeline cyberattack


Twice as nice: Planet Smoothie opens alongside Cold Stone Creamery in co-branded store


Spencer board gets update on South Iredell rat problem


West Rowan teacher awarded $15,000 outdoor learning grant


Town of Cleveland plans celebration May 22

High School

High school girls tennis: Busy Hornets win again easily

High School

High school softball: Nixon, Walton top all-county team


All Hood Alumni and Friends Symposium scheduled June 18


Shoutouts: Southern City Church awards educational gifts


City to pave streets surrounding Bell Tower Green after park is constructed


Colonial Pipeline restarts operations days after major hack


Ohio’s million-dollar idea: Lottery prizes for vaccinations


GOP dumps defiant Trump critic Cheney from top House post


Israel steps up Gaza offensive, kills senior Hamas figures


Fluctuating COVID-19 death number back to 302 in Rowan County


Habitual felon sentenced to at least 8 years in prison


City of Kannapolis to have bike rodeo Saturday


Two more charged for operating illegal gambling businesses


A.L. Brown celebrates seniors with signing day


Rebounding, but not recovered: Rowan County tourism begins challenging path toward normalcy