Graduation 2016: Gray Stone Day School senior plans

Published 12:00 am Friday, June 3, 2016

Gray Stone Day School’s 12th graduation will be today at 7 p.m. in the Gray Stone Day School gymnasium adjacent to Pfeiffer University’s Misenheimer campus. A reception honoring the seniors and their families will follow in the commons. This class has received almost $3 million in scholarships.

The commencement speaker will be Mark Martin, chief justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court.

The three student commencement speakers are Ilya Wang, Shannon Efird and Cassie Bebout.

Gray Stone does not recognize valedictorian or salutatorian for graduation. Students graduate with honors, high honors or highest honors based on their weighted GPA.

Junior Marshals are Tyler Heald, Francis Rivell, Samuel Lanning, Drew Heald, Maria Kanawati, Benjamin McLeod, Parker Jenkins, Emery Cagle, William Casmus, Angelika Lindberg, Jennifer Kribbs and Sheldon Smith.

The University of Alabama: Linsey Medlin.

Appalachian State University: Jenna Biddle, Virginia Currie, Eleanor Mullis and Ilya Wang.

Asbury University: Joshua Sutlive.

Auburn University: Cassie Bebout and Morgan Webb.

Caldwell Community College and Tech Institute: Colby McMillan.

Campbell University: Megan Frick and Kayla Sloop.

Cape Fear Community College: Chase Sarif.

Catawba College: Abby Kluttz, Macayla Upright and Lychia Vang.

East Carolina University: Chloe Burks, Jeffrey Lau and Laura Webber.

East Tennessee State University: Brandy Wallen.

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University-Prescott: Jordan Kirkwood.

Emory & Henry College: Emily Morris.

Gardner-Webb University: Cameron Reeder and Celsea Reeder.

Guilford College: Sarah Hutton.

Kansas State University: Connie McDowell.

Lee University: Veronica Boss.

Mars Hill University: Austin Herlocker.

Methodist University: Montana Kimrey and Micah Mason.

Mississippi State University: Braden Taylor.

U.S. Marine Corps: Walker Latimer.

University of North Carolina-Asheville: Calista Korzelius.

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill: Catherine Blake-Harris, Shannon Efird, Leann Harward, Emily Jones, Darien Paonessa, Cameron Starnes and Lacey Turner.

University of North Carolina-Charlotte: Tyler Brewster, Clayton Cartner, Spencer Fogleman, John Green, Rachel Hudson, Jessica Love, Jonah Morgan, William Murdoch, Samantha Palian, Weston Preslar, Timothy Raquet, Leanna Richardson, Nehemiah Robinson, Ashley Russell, Patrick Stamey, William Sutton and Jared Thomas.

University of North Carolina-Greensboro: Mackenzie Billings and Joshua Hunter.

University of North Carolina-Wilmington: Ian Faile, Kelsey Kiser and Katherine Sullivan.

North Carolina State University: Magdalyn Foley, Rylee Furr, Jacob Goodnight, Logan Hammill, Lydia Hartung, Brian Irving, Diana Mata, Kyle Mitchell, Emily Moore and John Wallace.

Pfeiffer University: Kristina Everhart and Lauren Walker.

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College: Jonathan Harper.

Savannah College of Art and Design: Boyd Temple.

Stanly Community College: Morgan Foley, Wesleigh Harrington and Mary Pinson.

Trevecca Nazarene University: Michaela Adcock.

Virginia Wesleyan College: Madison Hatley.

Western Carolina University: Rachel Fields, Madison Hale, Lucas Isenhour, Zachary Kessinger and Mary Stuart VanHoy.

Wingate University: Shelby Burris, Summer Fleming, Bailey Freeburn and Ashley Howell.

Undecided: Jordy Featherstone, Madison Hatley and Abby Kluttz.