Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG awards scholarships

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 2, 2016

SALISBURYThe Salisbury-Rowan chapter of Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG) and the Scholarships Advisory Committee awarded seven $1,000 scholarships for 2016-17 academic year. The committee members are Chairperson Merry Overholser, Michael Clawson, Lisa Cobb, Dr. Mary Frances Edens, Patricia Horner, Roger Hull, Vonda Kimrey-Jenkins, Donna Odrosky and Carol Williams-Swoope. The winners of the 2016 scholarships are:

  • The Anne Stanback-Charlotte Kinlock Scholarship: Named in honor of Salisbury native Anne Stanback, and her wife, Charlotte Kinlock, this scholarship was awarded to Calissa V. Andersen. Calissa is a senior at Salisbury High School and will be attending UNC-Chapel Hill. She is the daughter of Jaime and Nicole Andersen of Salisbury.
  • The Linda Ketner Community Service Scholarship: Named in honor of Salisbury native Linda Ketner, this scholarship was awarded to Hannah L. Myers. Hannah is a senior at Rowan County Early College and will be attending East Carolina University. She is the daughter of Dellarene Myers of Salisbury.
  • The Bob Page-Dale Frederiksen Scholarship: Named in honor of Bob Page, founder and CEO of Replacements, Ltd. and his life partner, Dale Frederiksen, this scholarship was awarded to Mackenzie D. Stall. Mackenzie is a senior at East Rowan High School and will be attending the College of Charleston. She is the daughter of Thomas and Tanya Fiello of Salisbury and Howard Stall of Charlotte.
  • The Founder’s Equality Scholarship: This scholarship, named in honor of Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG founder, Mike Clawson, and awarded specifically to a straight ally, was awarded to Shirley A. Trayah. Shirley is a senior at Jesse C. Carson High School and will be attending UNC-Chapel Hill. She is the daughter of Wendy Trayah of Salisbury.
  • The Salisbury Pride-Scotty Ray Gilbert Scholarship, is named in memory of Scotty Ray Gilbert, a past board member of Salisbury Pride, Inc. This year, the Salisbury Pride-Scotty Ray Gilbert Scholarship was awarded to Tarik J. Woods. Tarik is a senior at Salisbury High School and will be attending UNC-Chapel Hill. He is the son of Kelly Woods-Medlin and Darrell Wilson, both of Salisbury.
  • The Roger and Linda Hull Scholarship, created to honor the Hull’s gay son, and awarded specifically to someone active in their faith community, was awarded to Kaya M. Peele. Kaya is a senior at Salisbury High School and will be attending UNC-Wilmington. She is the daughter of Kristin Peele of Salisbury, and Jabe Peele of Longs, S.C.
  • The Russell E. Hellekson, Jr. Scholarship, created in memory of the accomplished musician who died in 1988, was awarded to Victoria O. Isenhour. Tori is a senior Jesse C. Carson High School and will be attending UNC-Asheville. She is the daughter of Brian and Teresa Isenhour of Salisbury.

The Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG chapter was founded in 2006, and in 2008, the chapter established its scholarship foundation and awarded the chapter’s first two scholarships. Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG was the first organization in North Carolina to award scholarships exclusively to LGBT students and their straight allies.

“Uniquely, Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG’s scholarships may be awarded to any public, private or home schooled high school senior continuing their education at any accredited trade school, community college or traditional four year college or university,” said Donna Odrosky, chapter president.

PFLAG is the nation’s foremost family-based organization committed to the civil and social rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender persons. Founded in 1973 by mothers and fathers, PFLAG has 300,000 members in nearly 350 chapters throughout the U.S., including 20 chapters in North Carolina.

“Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG is proud to support these articulate, accomplished scholars with great promise for future contribution to our society in general and to the cause of rights and recognition for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people in particular,” said Overholser, chairperson of the Scholarships Advisory Committee. “Our sincere thanks go to all of our many benefactors and donors who consider this an important cause and whose generosity makes these scholarships possible. Because of the wonderful response to the program and with the continued success of our scholarship fundraisers, Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG has awarded forty $1,000 scholarships over the last nine years. That’s an accomplishment to be proud of.”

This year’s scholarship recipients will be recognized, on stage, at the sixth annual Salisbury Pride celebration in downtown Salisbury on June 25. For more information on Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG and the chapter’s scholarship program, call Donna Odrosky at 704-640-2621.