St. John’s Lutheran awards 28 scholarships

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 2, 2016

SALISBURY — Sunday morning, St. John’s awarded 28 scholarships — including four ministerial scholarships — all totaling $31,646.

The following students are recipients:

  • The Thomas E. Gilbert and Viola H. Bailey Scholarship: John Yang, Alex Yang, Caroline Parrott
  • The Dorothy Click Fesperman Scholarship: Matt Woolly, Carter Woolly, Caroline Plyler, Caroline Parrott, Steven Page, Anna Page, Sarah Michalec, Russell Michalec, Sam McNeely, Paul McNeely, Shelby Holden, Walker Brown
  • The Carl Edgar & Edna Cauble Leazer Church Music Scholarship: Laura Agner
  • The Scott Rierson Memorial Scholarship: Laura Agner, Kathryn Rusher
  • The Emily May Brown Memorial Scholarship: Walker Brown, Christopher Derrick, Katie Tonnesen
  • The Bruce Alden Ketner Jr. Scholarship: Christopher Derrick, Andrew Poe, Kathryn Rusher
  • The Margaret Cline & Ernest Crawford Safrit Sr. Scholarship: David Derrick, Michael Jones, Riley Myers, Andrew Poe
  • The Hugh B. and Lena B. Lyerly Scholarship: Georgia Kirchin, Katie Tonnesen, Jordan Smith

Dr. Cyndi Osterhus, scholarship chair, made the presentations during the 11 a.m. worship service. Dr. Ronald Smith chairs the St. John’s Benevolent Foundation.