• 64°

Education shoutouts

Faith Elementary

March Good Citizens: Walker Morrow, Braylin Henderson, Taylor Brown, Ayden Blevins, Hunter Ealey, Darren Mickey, Hai’li Eldreth, Ethan Morgan, Samantha Booth, Austin McClenney, Cassidy Troy, Aubree Jordan and Gannon Kepley

March Good Deed Doers: Selena Lockemy, Dawson Byars, Jacob Brown, Maddison Ball, Claire Harris, Lucas Wilhelm, Jess Tortorello, Ethan Sanders, Eli Steele, Matthew Saxon, Zander Farmer, Jordan Williams and Tristan Ruhnow

North Rowan Elementary

The following students were selected as Good Citizens for the month of March based on the character trait “integrity:”
Prek/Kindergarten: Mohagany Allen, Kaylee Connor and McKenzie Mills
First grade: Gerald Bush, Jayden Jones, Shyne Betton, Haley McCoy,Noah Vang, Brenden Ellis and Brayden Atkinson
Second grade: Aubrey Martin,Jay Cleary, Zoey Teague, Maria Valle and Thomas Heggins
Third grade: Aniya Ross and Makenna Arrowood
Fourth grade: Jae’Mais Morrow,Robert Caldwell, Destin Sechler, Makeiha Robinson, Briana King, Nina Ross, Trey Vriesema, Kilani Toledo and Alex Wise
Fifth grade: Omar Witherspoon

Cleveland Elementary

The following students were selected as Good Citizen for the month of March:

Kendall  Brown, Mia Santivanez, Annabella Ingram, Raegan Quinn, Gavin Davis, Cameron Fitzgerald, Ashley Sola-Dubon, Logan Smith, Breanna Moose, Quinta McNeal, Mason Truman, Emma Keener, Kyle Nanoz, Andy Lane, Emmily Connelly, Gabriel Mejia Tavira, Reece Helmandollar, Maria Cortez, Gage Ludwick, Lark Staley, Gavin Morgan, Mykyria Howell, Brendan Sidden, Ashley Pardo, Emma Brewer, J’Hari Clodfelter, Savannah Bean, Nathan Hall, Christian Kepley, Kennedy House, Katie Carillo and Abram Davis.

North Hills Christian School

HERO Awards

The following students in grades first through fifth received HERO awards. HERO stands for Students who Honor God in all they say and do, and they are Empowered by Christ to Reveal the Fruit of the Spirit and Offer help to others.

First grade: Leah Bowers, Tailor Russell, Daniel Godbey, Owen Hammill, Joshua Wilson and Caleb Teague

Second grade: Corbin Cross, Mia Eddinger, Michael Eddinger, Zarianna Knox, Dereon Rose-Morris and Lydia Vriesema

Third grade: Layton Barber, Mason Barrier, Brayden Latva and Lucas Mitchell

Fourth grade: Jill Boger, Rachel Johnson, Carlee Latva, Lenny Medina, Landon Merrell, Noah Merrell, Lily Sparks, Payton Thorneburg and Sam Wilson

Fifth grade: AJ Huffman, Katilyn Luckadoo, Kemon O’Kelley, Kenrik Payne, Eli Sherrill, Ethan Talbott and Kane Talbott

Third Quarter Honor Roll

A Honor Roll

First grade: Harrison Banish, Hailey Bello, Cade Brooks, Aiden Meacham, Evan Paustian, Megan Powlas, Kierstin Preslar, Chloe Salyers, Taylor Simon, Blaine Smith, Wren Sparks, Jimmy Szymanski and Colin Williams

Second grade: Corbin Cross, Jasmine David, Gracie Hauser, Colton Helms, Alec McGrail, Keegan Merrell and Reese Merrell

Third grade: Mason Barrier, Maxwell Foote, Samuel Hammill, Brayden Latva and Kanji Ram

Fourth grade: Megan Church, Audrey Corriher, Bailey Fisher, Rachel Johnson, Landon Merrell and Jenna Plummer

Fifth grade: Cyprus Jones, Marik Kolbasowski and Ashlyn Zunk

Seventh grade: Caroline Nance, Matthew Thomas and Abigail Zunk

Eighth grade: Madison Deal, Tyler Hunt

Ninth grade: Colby Edmonds, Audrey McGrail

11th grade: Kira Harwood, Felicity Hatley, Avery McGrail and Jordan Plummer

12th grade: Garrett Beck

A/B Honor Roll

First grade: Owen Hammill, Julian Myers, Tailor Russell, Gelsey Suarez, Caleb Teague and Joshua Wilson

Second grade: Sara Barringer, Dylan Carter, Dillin Galloway, Michael Eddinger, Tanner Gibson, Kira Gladden, Jackson Hall, Joshua Hastings, Bella Maynor, Dustin Morgan, Auden Pethel, Angela Rodriguez, Dereon Rose-Morris, Emily Teague and Lydia Vriesema

Third grade: Layton Barber, Morgan Deaton, Daniel Doan, Benjamyn Hogan, Riley Lowder, Alexis Martinez, Nate Minor, Noah Nisbet, Kemyon Oglesby, Triston Rabon and J.D. Tysinger

Fourth grade: McKenna Anderson, Isabella Banish, EmmyLou Ellison, Hunter Gibson, Gentry Horton, Lynsi Hunt, Isabella Keck, Tyler Kepley, Carlee Latva, Griffin McNeely, Andrew Mead, Lenny Medina, Isabel Melton, Noah Merrell, Josue’ Nunez, Brandon Peralta, Morgan Rice, Jake Smith, Jonathan Spillane, Rylan Talbott, Sam Wilson and Kasey Wippenbeck

Fifth grade: Ansley Deal, Jordan Henderson, Olivia Herrin, Andrew Huffman, Emma Hunsucker, Kaitlyn Luckadoo, Kemon O’Kelly, Kenrik Payne, Eli Sherrill and Davis West

Sixth grade: Henry Barringer, Nicholas Foote, Sophia Hill, Morgan Humble, Aaron McGrail, Owen Painter-Krause, Hallie Parrish, Jada Rice, Jacob Saunders and Anna Teague

Seventh grade: Cassidy Athey, Ava Corriher, Ariel Fontenot, Bethany Hogan, Elisabeth Houghton, Eli Huffman, Elizabeth Jones, Macaden Jones, Joseph Kolbasowski, Austin Latva, Raegan Lowder, Ashley Mays, Jonathan Mosher, Preston Rollins, Morgan Trexler, Andrew Watson and Spencer West

Eighth grade: Anthony Bello, Alyssa Elston, Devon Mitchell, Abraham Montalvo, Felisaty Morgan, Emily Peck, Kaitlin Staton and Rook Wetzel

Ninth grade: Derick Aguilera, Bailey Birkhead, Shelby Kennerly and Klara Ogg,

Tenth grade: Dean Gilmore, Catherine Johnson, Camantha-Rae Lyerly and Annabelle Nagy

11th grade: Ethan Aguilera, Dajah Glenn, Ro-Ah Park and Adam Reeder

12th grade: Sarah Lynn Carlton, Sieria Eagle, Nicholas Huffman, Brittney Hogan, Olivia Houghton, Bradley Hunt and Frank Wu

William Woods University

Kiersten Lockman, of Kannapolis, is a charter member of the new mathematics honor society, Kappa Mu Epsilon, at William Woods University.

North Carolina State University

Alan Lebowitz, of Salisbury, was initiated into Phi Kappa Phi national honor society at North Carolina State University. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership.

Valdosta State University

Kayla Sigmon, of Faith, has accepted an Odum Scholarship valued at $1,500 per year to attend Valdosta State University during the 2016-2017 academic year. This award is renewable.



Three new COVID-19 deaths, positives remain below triple digits


Gov. Cooper announces end to curfew, changes to restrictions affecting bars, high school sports


Blotter: Two charged after call about package


Salisbury Police investigating two shootings


Chase involving Kernersville man ends in woods behind Carson High School

News Main

North Rowan girls end season with playoff loss to Murphy


Rowan-Salisbury EC department plunges in place after raising $1,300 for Special Olympics


Tiger Woods injured in car crash, has surgery on legs


Local stakeholders set goals, direction to tackle city’s housing issues


RSS board talks future of Henderson Independent School


One new COVID-19 death, 23 new positives reported Tuesday


Concord to create fallen officer memorial featuring Rowan native Shuping


20-year-old man faces rape charges


Blotter: Man charged after shooting gun during argument


UPDATE: Missing Salisbury man found


RSS board votes to use upset bid process on Faith property


Committee to soon accept artist applications for ‘Paint the Pavement’ project


RSS board votes to send elementary students to in-person classes four days per week


County to administer nearly 1,700 vaccines this week


Political Notebook: Rep. Howard named ‘hospitality champion’ by North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association


Blotter: Gunshot fired into home on North Oakhurst Drive


Teenager reported missing in Salisbury


‘Everybody needs an Aunt Libby:’ Family celebrates 100th birthday of Rockwell doctor Elizabeth Lombard

Ask Us

Ask Us: Why is Rowan EMS no longer transporting some patients outside of county?