Education ShoutOuts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 3, 2016

North Rowan Elementary presents at NCTIES
North Rowan Elementary School MediaTech kids were accepted to present at the North Carolina Technology in Education Society conference in Raleigh. They will be presenting  to educators from across the country. The North Rowan MediaTech kids have been working hard all year long to revamp the morning news show to make it more appealing to staff and students and to incorporate iPads.
Before the 2015-2016 school year, the students used a camera and a closed circuit broadcast system. But not students have transformed the program using a green screen and an iPad — using the Touchcast app to recreate their news program.
Faith Elementary honors
February Good Citizens: Alana Quick, Noah Trexler, Addyson Honeycutt, Jaida Hinkle, Charlotte Chandler, Carson Halpin, Emma Savage, Kaitlin Losh, Austin Atwell, Trysten Scully, Gracianna Barber, Makayla Ames, Tristan Clawson, Peyton Brown, Jersey Brown, Hailey Conte, Caleb Schell, Alex Gardner and Deacon Cloninger
February Good Deed Doers: Ben Parker, Madalynne Shahan, Hadley Hobbs, Peyton Roman, Deuce Lane, Samantha Stone, Alyssa Deal, Hannah Conte, Sophia Keller, Alexis Thomason, Cassie Malin, Jackson Earnhardt, Maddy Osborne, Jordan Wilhite, Mason Riley, Alyssa Cozart, Cameron Webb and Miles Abramson
Mount Ulla Elementary honors
Character winners from Mount Ulla Elementary School for the month of February. These students demonstrate the character trait of responsibility and were honored with a luncheon by Mrs. Knox.
Kindergarten: Tripp Shelton and Andrew McLaughlin
First grade: Phineas Mixson and Jade White
Second grade: Jordan Gardner, Clary Graham and Riley Astrach
Third grade: Kennedy Clawson and McKayla Hege
Fourth grade: Jisel Suarez
Fifth grade: Rilie Sigmon, Franco Reyes-Ortega and Lyndsey Davis
Montalvo wins North Hills geography bee
Abraham Montalvo, an eighth grade student at North Hills Christian School won the school competition of the National Geographic Bee and a chance at a $50,000 college scholarship. The school bee, at which students answered questions on geography, was the first round in the 28th annual National Geographic Bee.
The school champions, including Montalvo, will take a qualifying test; up to 100 of the top scorers on that test in each state will then be eligible to compete in their state bee on April 1.
The National Geographic Society will provide an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., for state winners to participate in the Bee national championship rounds May 22-25. The national finals will air on television on the National Geographic Channel and PBS stations. Check local listings for dates and times.
RCCC awards finalists
The following students are the top 15 finalists and winners for the Student Excellence Awards: Lori Batterman of Concord, Julia Blankenship of Salisbury, Gina Davis of Charlotte, Michelle Dieul of Salisbury, Thea Flynn of Mount Pleasant, Ursula Gantner of  Concord, Leah Greer of  Concord,  Reece Hawley of Concord, Tammy Kimrey of  Salisbury, Teresa Lowenstein of Charlotte, Scott Martin of Concord, Daphne Moore of Charlotte, Cathy Nkokesha Lubamba of Harrisburg, Kathleen Quevedo of Concord and Roa Saleh of Harrisburg.

The finalists were up for three prestigious awards. Competition was rigorous as the Student Excellence Award Committee began with a pool of over 300 eligible students, which included Rowan-Cabarrus Community College Foundation scholarship recipients, faculty and staff nominees, and student organization leaders. Student nominees were invited to write a 500 word essay to be reviewed by a committee, and of the 108 submitted essays, 15 finalists were selected to be interviewed.

Thea Flynn received the Academic Excellence Award, which recognizes the academic achievement, leadership and community service of one student from each of the 58 institutions in the North Carolina Community College System.

Gina Davis was awarded the Dallas Herring Achievement Award. The award is given annually to a current or former community college student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy.

Additionally, Roa Saleh was honored with the Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award. The award is bestowed on students who demonstrate leadership on a statewide level.

Barton College dean’s list

Barton College named 346 students to the Dean’s List for fall semester 2015. Dean’s List students achieved a grade point average of 3.3 or better on a four-point scale.

China Grove: Brenna Claire Pruitt.

Mocksville: Atlanta Nicole Powell.

Salisbury: Justin Robert Evans, Michaela Cheyenne Karriker and Kaitlyn E. Youngo.

Daughters of the American Revolution
The Elizabeth Maxwell Steele Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution announces the following winners of their 2016 Good Citizen Award for the year: Calissa Vincenta Andersen, Brittney Kolette Hogan, Gregory Lucas Beam, and Daniel Sawyer Troutman. These students have received the DAR Good Citizen pins, a small monetary award and will be recognized at their awards assemblies at the end of the school year. Students were chosen for exemplifying dependability, service, leadership and patriotism in their respective homes, schools, places of worship and in the community.