Salisbury Rowan Church Women United annual meeting

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 27, 2016

Salisbury Rowan Church Women United annual meeting

Betty Jo Hardy, SRCWU Communications Co-Chair

EAST SPENCER — The Salisbury Rowan Church Women United held the 2016 Annual Meeting at Southern City Tabernacle African Episcopal Zion Church, 940 S. Long St. on Feb. 7.

More than 50 women and men gathered to officially begin another year of worship, study, fellowship and advocating for peace with justice.

Participants included President Doris Brown of Jerusalem Missionary Baptist; host President Elisa Jones; host pastor Rev. Patrick Tate; Chaplain Gwendolyn Ellis of Moore’s Chapel AMEZ; Annie Bates of Trinity Presbyterian; Betty Jo Hardy; Thomasina and Keith Holland; Rena Morgan of First Calvary Missionary Baptist.

The speaker was the Rev. Dr. Barbara Hart, associate minister of First Calvary Baptist.

One highlight of the meeting was the presentation of the 2016 Valiant Woman Award by President Brown and Vice-president Dorothy Gill-Smith to Tonya Cornelius of Sills Creek AME Zion Church. Ms. Cornelius serves the SRCWU as Treasurer. Family members Phyllis and Robin Cornelius were present to witness their daughter / sister being honored by Church Women United.

President Brown called the business meeting to order; participants were Tonya Cornelius, treasurer; Dorothy Gill Smith of Moore’s Chapel AME Zion, chair of the by-laws committee; secretary Jean Kennedy of Southern City AMEZ; chair of nominations, Lynn Bolick of St.Luke’s Episcopal; Sarah Byerly of Christ United Methodist.

New officers are Dorothy Gill-Smith, president-elect; Vickie Kotlarz of Sacred Heart Catholic Church, May Friendship Day chair; Gloria L. Bradshaw of First Calvary Baptist, World Community Day chair; Mary M. Marlin of Ardis Chapel AME Zion Church, Ecumenical Action chair.

About Post Lifestyles

Visit us on Facebook: and Twitter @postlifestlyes for more content

email author More by Post