Kannapolis Fire Department hands out awards

Published 11:22 am Tuesday, February 16, 2016

The Kannapolis Fire Department recently held its annual Awards and Appreciation Banquet at the Laureate Center in the new City Hall-Police Headquarters with more than 240 fire department personnel, family members and special guests in attendance.

Numerous personnel were honored for their accomplishments in 2015, with the two top honors presented to Senior Captain Brian Smith, who received the Larry C. Phillips Fire Officer of the Year Award, and Firefighter Don Gray who received the Danny E. Scott Firefighter of the Year Award.

Retired Kannapolis Fire Chief Phillips and retired Assistant Fire Chief Danny Scott assisted with the presentation of these awards.

Smith is a 15-year veteran of the fire department and has served as a captain for nine years. He serves on several important committees and is a member of the department’s Honor Guard. He is assigned to Engine 31 in the Royal Oaks community.

Gray has been with Kannapolis Fire Department for three years and is assigned to Engine 51 and the special operations team located in the Kannapolis Parkway area. He also serves as president of the Kannapolis Firefighters’ Assistance Foundation (KFAF).

In addition to these two awards, the Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6480 gave an additional award this year — the VFW Public Servant Award. Engineer Scott Smith received this honor. He is a 13-year veteran of the department and serves the department as the lead Explorer Post 1 adviser and a member of the Honor Guard.

When asked about the recognitions, Fire Chief Ernie Hiers said, “It is a pleasure to recognize our entire department for their hard work and an honor to recognize these three dedicated employees. They are vital members of our organization.”

In addition to the departmental awards, Explorer Post 1 recognized individuals for their achievements during the past year. Explorer Battalion Chief Tyler Livengood received the Explorer Officer of the Year Award; Explorer Greg Sherrill received the Explorer of the Year Award; and Explorer Captain Chris Herbert received the Bradley E. Jordan Outstanding Service Award. “These three individuals are well thought of by their peers and certainly deserve these special recognitions,” said Scott Smith