Bayada float in a league of its own

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 3, 2015

You could say Bayada Home Health Care hit it out of the park during the Holiday Caravan parade.

Bayada won the award for the most outstanding unit in last week’s parade with its portrayal of “A League of Their Own.” The 1992 movie was about a World War II-era women’s baseball team.

Bayada staff members wore baseball caps and uniforms, shouldered bats and sported other equipment — and even had a male coach.

They won the Carl E. Weinbrunn Award, named for the man who came up with the new name for the Rowan County Christmas Parade in 1963 — Holiday Caravan.

Bayada Home Health Care placed first among professional floats. Also winning in that category were Kimbrell’s Furniture, second; and Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Alpha Alpha Zeta Chapter.

Other categories and winners were:

Non-professional business float: Noah’s Playloft Preschool, first.

Non-professional non-business float: Spencer Doll and Toy Museum, first; Salisbury Bible Methodist, second; and East Rowan High School FFA, third;

General Chairman’s Award: N.C. Transportation Museum Whistle Truck

Executive Director’s Award: James River Equipment

Best religious entry: Stallings Memorial Baptist Church.

Best depiction of “Happy Holidays” theme: Salisbury Bible Methodist.

Best dance group: Dimensions Dance Arts

Best drill team: Salisbury High School

Band: Livingstone College, first place, Julian C. Johnson Honor Band; Vance High School, second; Ashe County High School, third.

Best front line: Harding University

Best drum major/majorette: Livingstone College

Best drum line: North Rowan High School

Food Lion was the parade’s title sponsor.

The people working behind the scenes to make it all happen are members of the Holiday Caravan Board of Directors: Wesley Perry, Wendy Perry, Brittany Perry, Kayla Perry, Lindsey Sharp, Tammy Pinkston, Derek Pinkston, Donald Sturdivant, Norman Hill, Bob Bartlett, Rhonda Perry, Robert House, Mitch Grubb, Jeremy Chase, Kathy Kimbrell and  Timothy Livengood.