Area Sports Briefs: Hargrave closes stellar career for SC State

Published 11:53 pm Sunday, November 22, 2015

From staff reports
South Carolina State senior Javon Hargrave (North Rowan) closed his career with the Bulldogs with two sacks and a forced fumble in a 52-29 win against Savannah State.
Hargrave had 22 tackles for loss and 13.5 sacks this season. He had 11 quarterback hurries and was credited with 59 tackles.
Hargrave was BOXTOROW’s national player of the week for HBCU football for his previous game. In hat outing, he had three sacks and four tackles for loss against Norfolk State.
Hargrave had 23.5 tackles for loss and 16 sacks as a junior and was a first team FCS All-America selection.

College hoops
Malik Ford (North Rowan) scored 10 points and T.J. Bates (North Rowan) had six in Johnson C. Smith’s 104-88 win against Apprentice on Friday.
It was the 500th win for Golden Bulls coach Steve Joyner Sr.
Livingstone played in J.C. Smith’s Tip-Off Tournament.
The Blue Bears lost 59-45 to Benedict Friday and beat Apprentice 90-71 on Saturday.

Women’s hoops
UNC Asheville’s Kelli Fisher (East Rowan) had a perfect shooting game in her last outing — 4-for-4 from the field and 2-for-2 from the line.
In 10 minutes of action, Fisher had 10 points and seven rebounds in an 89-41 romp against Montreat.
Morehead State’s Shay Steele (West Rowan) had 10 points and five rebounds in a 99-90 win at Georgia State.

College volleyball
Brevard’s Hannah Elmore (Carson) had two kills and four digs in a loss to Wingate in the first round of the SAC tournament. Elmore had 112 kills, 41 digs and 30 block assists this season.
Aimee Cloninger (Carson) finished her season at Belmont Abbey with 159 kills, 244 digs and 15 aces.

College swimming
McKenzie Stevens (Salisbury) was recently named the Bluegrass Conference Swimmer of the Week after posting three first-place finishes in a meet with Limestone and Catawba.
Stevens won the 1000 freestyle, 100 butterfuly and anchored the 400 medley relay.

All-Central Carolina Conference teams were announced on Saturday.
North Rowan defensive end Zion DeBose was named CCC Defensive Player of the Year. DeBose had 33 tackles for loss and 31 QB hurries.
Lexington QB Daniel Reid-Bennett was named CCC Offensive Player of the Year.
Joining DeBose on the all-conference team from North are DB Chris Clodfelter, linebacker Javin Goodine, defensive linemen Jake Pritchard and Stevie Thurston, running backs Xavier Haley and Jaleel Webster, kicker Jacob Young, receivers Alonzo Sirleaf and Desmond Gray and offensive lineman Robbie Monroe.
All-CCC Salisbury players are DBs Shaquez Strickland and Darius Jackson, defensive end D.J. Alexander, linebacker Tywun Rivens, running back Antwond Glenn and offensive linemen Matt Woolly and Marquese Peele.
Thomasville’s Gil Maxwell was named CCC Coach of the Year, with Lexington’s Chuck Henderson runner-up.
Runner-up for CCC Offensive Player of the Year was Thomasville ‘s DJ Spann. Runner-up for CCC Defensive Player of the Year was Thomasville’s Jahare Taylor-Thomas.
West Davidson players on the All-CCC team are quarterback Carter Beck and defensive tackle Zach Huff.
Salisbury’s Landon Goodman was named CCC Offensive Player of the Year.
Salisbury’s Cristian Uribe shared CCC Defensive Player of the Year honors with Lexington’s Adrian Rodriguez.
Joining Goodman and Uribe on the All-CCC team are Salisbury’s Reilly Gokey, Joshua Lynch, Arturo Ramirez, Ahmedin Salcinovic and Pedro Cruz.
North Rowan’s Jose Garcia was named to the All-CCC team.
Thomasville’s Javony Lopez was runner-up for CCC Offensive Player of the Year.
Thomasville’s Alan Reavis was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Salisbury’s Juliana Anderson was named CCC Player of the Year for the second year in a row, while North Rowan’s Makala Lytton was runner-up.
North Rowan’s Aliyah Farmer made All-CCC, along with Salisbury’s Lora Withers and Abby Lee.
East Davidson’s Kim Warrick was named CCC Coach of the Year, with Lexington’s Kristian Young runner-up.
Boys cross country
Salisbury’s Matt Washko, Alex Yang, Keegan Dillon, Reilly Gokey, Roarke Burton, Sam McNeely and John Yang made All-CCC.
Thomasville’s Christopher Maxon was CCC Runner of the Year, with East Davidson’s Austin Campbell runner-up.
Coach of the Year was East Davidson’s Bob Schilly, with West Davidson’s Lynn Ludwig runner-up.
Girls cross country
Salisbury’s Ellen Simons and Mary Kaufmann made the All-CCC team.
West Davidson’s Patience Hunt is the CCC Runner of the year, with West Davidson’s Macy Watkins runner-up.
West Davidson’s Ludwig was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Salisbury’s Kayla Honeycutt is the CCC Player of the Year.
Also making the All-CCC team from Salisbury were Kathryn Rusher, Grace Steinman, Maria Capito, Emily Capito and Julia Honeycutt.
Runner-up to Kayla Honeycutt for CCC Player of the Year was West Davidson’s Rachel Salinas.
West Davidson’s Hillary Daniels was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Salisbury’s Milton Griffith was runner-up for coach of the year honors.
Salisbury’s Grace Yatawara was the CCC Golfer of the Year. Salisbury’s Shelby Holden and Carolina Parrott also made the All-CCC team.
Coach of the Year was West Davidson’s David Klinkoski.

In the Super Bowl for 5th-6th graders, Granite-Faith beat North Rowan 25-6 on Saturday.
In the 3rd-4th grade championship game, North Rowan topped Granite-Faith 14-6.