2015-2016 Leadership Rowan class chosen

Published 12:00 am Thursday, August 27, 2015

The Rowan County Chamber of Commerce has selected the Leadership Rowan Class of 2015-16 – the 23rd class of the chamber’s signature program for community leaders.

These leaders will spend 10 months going on exclusive tours and having hands-on experiences with area leaders who take on the community’s biggest challenges every day. Armed with new knowledge, connections and perspectives, Leadership Rowan graduates are prepared to take their places as effective community leaders.

Since 1992, Leadership Rowan has sought the community’s most influential and esteemed leaders to make them knowledgeable about issues, well-networked and passionate about the success of the community

“We are extremely proud of the history and success of Leadership Rowan with over 500 graduates of the program,” said Dustin Wilson of Chick-fil-A, steering committee chairman.

The Leadership Rowan program begins with the Opening Retreat Aug. 27-28, and runs through May 2016. The 21 members of the 2015-16 class are: Shanyn Aysta, VA Medical Center; Wendy Barnhardt, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College; Deana Burris, Trinity Oaks; Tim Campbell, Smart Start Rowan; Bob Cartner, Chandler Concrete; Niki Castor, city of Salisbury; Angela Crowell, Delhaize America/Food Lion; Danelle Cutting, Rowan County Cooperative Extension; Cress Goodnight, Novant Health Rowan Medical Center; and Carla Howell, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.

Other members include Miles Jordan, Belk; Barry King, city of Salisbury; Noel Kirila, Johnson Concrete; Andrew McMillan, Brent Parks CPA PA; Chris McNeil, Rowan Salisbury School System; Wendy Melchor, Novant Health Medical Group; Mandy Mills, Rowan-Salisbury School System; Kris Mueller, Rowan Helping Ministries; Emilie Scharf, Partners in Learning; Amy Susong, Livingstone College; and Marian Walters, Novant Health Rowan Medical Center Foundation.

Members of the Leadership Rowan Steering Committee are Wilson; Gary Blabon, Novant Health Rowan Medical Center; Deborah Johnson, Livingstone College; Nick Means, F&M Bank; Natasha Lipscomb, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College; Amy Smith, Rowan County government; Janet Spriggs, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College; and, John Wear, Catawba College Center for the Environment.

For more information on the leadership program, contact the Rowan Chamber at 704-633-4221 or info@rowanchamber.com