Filing for municipal races opens today

Published 12:11 am Monday, July 6, 2015

Municipal races across Rowan officially start today.

Filing for city and town council races starts at 8 a.m. today, and ends on July 17 at noon. Filing for Rowan races will be at the Board of Elections in the county’s administration building at 131 West Innes Street in Salisbury. Election day is Nov. 3.

In Rowan, a total of 42 positions are up for grabs, and races are beginning to take shape.

To date, two current elected officials have declared a bid for re-election. Brian Miller last week told the Salisbury Post he would seek re-election to the Salisbury City Council. Steve Stroud said he would seek re-election to the China Grove Town Council.

Current China Grove Mayor Don Bringle last month declared he would not seek re-election. Instead, Bringle will support Lee Withers in the China Grove mayor’s race. Withers is currently the Mayor Pro Tempore of China Grove, and has said he would seek the mayor’s position.

William “Pete” Kennedy said he would not seek re-election to the Salisbury City Council. Kennedy has served on the council for more than 22 years. Kennedy was the longest serving member of the council.

In April, West End Activist Ken Hardin said he would seek election to the Salisbury City Council.

Former City Councilman and Bank Executive Mark Lewis in an email to the Salisbury Post on Sunday said he would seek a spot on the Salisbury council. Lewis served on the council from 2003 to 2009. He is a senior vice president at Fidelity Bank, which has a branch on Statesville Boulevard in Salisbury.

Filing fees for municipal races in Rowan range from $5 to $30. Voters will only be able to participate in races in municipalities where he or she resides.

The following positions are up for election on the 2015 ballot:

• China Grove mayor

• Two members of the China Grove Town Council

• Cleveland mayor

• Two Town of Cleveland commissioners

• East Spencer mayor

• Three East Spencer aldermen

• All five members of the Faith Board of Aldermen

• Granite Quarry mayor

• Two members of the Granite Quarry Board of Aldermen

• Three members of the Kannapolis City Council

• Landis mayor

• Two members of the Landis Board of Aldermen

• Rockwell mayor

• All five members of the Rockwell Board of Aldermen

• All five members of the Salisbury City Council

Salisbury’s mayor position is decided among council members after the election. It is not a separate race.

• Spencer mayor

• All six members of the Spencer Board of Aldermen

Contact reporter Josh Bergeron at 704-797-4246.