Students receive scholarships

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Janaesea’ Jordan wins Frances Black Holland Scholarship

Janaesea’ Jordan has been named the recipient of this year’s $2,000 Frances Black Holland Scholarship given by Cooperative Christian Ministry. The scholarship was created to mirror the core values of CCM and assist an A.L. Brown High School student in attending a college or university.

Jordan is the daughter of Tony and Kenya Jordan of Concord and will attend Winston-Salem State University in the fall to study nursing.

She is a member of Macedonia Missionary Baptist Church, where she participates in the youth choir and praise dance team. She is president of the Youth Council, organizes canned food drives and is a homeless shelter volunteer. At A.L. Brown, she’s a member the varsity cheerleading squad, Link Crew, National Technical Honors Society, Beta Club, Nursing Fundamentals, People to People and is a National Youth Leader Nominee.

In her application, she said the most important issue facing youth today is peer pressure.

“We as youth sometimes feel it’s not OK to be a positive leader rather than a follower of negativity,” she wrote.

“She is an outstanding young lady with great potential,” said her church pastor, the Rev. John Leazer.

Jordan received the scholarship at the A.L. Brown Senior Awards Night on May 19. She was chosen by the staff at CCM because she exemplifies a commitment to academics, to inspiring her community and to using her gifts to help others overcome obstacles and achieve their dreams.

Applicants are required to have a GPA of 2.75 or higher, as well as the traits of excel (applying their skills in a manner that exceeds expectations), community (community service or volunteerism), character (value themselves as well as others and exhibit characteristics of kindness, caring, honesty and sharing) and encouragement (inspire others and promote courage and confidence in others).

State Employees’ Credit Union members award $10,000 scholarship to area high school students

State Employees’ Credit Union members, via the SECU Foundation, presented a $10,000 four-year college scholarship to Laura Crawley, a senior at South Rowan High School, and Kalista Nedoff, a senior at A.L. Brown High School. Crawley will attend the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and Nedoff will attend Appalachian State University.

Funded solely by Credit Union members and given based on SECU’s philosophy of “People Helping People,” the scholarship recognizes the recipient’s community involvement, leadership skills, character and integrity, as well as scholastic achievement. The scholarship is provided for tuition and university approved educational expenses over eight consecutive semesters.

National Merit Scholarship award winner

Matthew F. Jones of Salisbury has received the National Merit University of Kentucky Scholarship.