High school commencement ceremonies June 13

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 3, 2015

For years, most Rowan-Salisbury high schools have celebrated graduation in Catawba College’s Keppel Auditorium, but due to an infestation of honeybees, local high schoolers will be graduating on their high school campuses this year.


Rowan County Early College

Rowan County Early College is the one exception. As in years past, its graduation ceremony was held May 22 at Carson High School. Because Early College students take classes at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, the school’s schedule aligns with the college’s schedule rather than the traditional high school schedule.

Student speaker Sarah Cook and Josephine Vermillion addressed the 46 graduates, as well as Superintendent Lynn Moody and Principal David Miller.

Erin Christner, Jennifer Ervin, Julianne Evans, Kendall Grumbles, Emerina Kelly and Lida Vang served as Junior Marshals.


West Rowan High School

No changes were made to West Rowan High School’s commencement ceremony plans, either. Graduation was already scheduled to be held at 8 a.m. June 13 in the high school’s stadium.

There are 263 seniors graduating from West Rowan this year, and Mino Panchit, Savannah Morgan, Tyler Myers and Baylie Hain will speak at the ceremony.

West Rowan’s Junior Marshals will be Kayla Blackburn, Thomas Webb, Mikayla Graham, Claudia Patterson, Victoria Patterson, Heidi Jaquez, Victoria Orbison, Mynia Snyder, Brooke Suddeth, Emilee Wooten, Emily Brown, Courtney Barron, Tiffany Dunning, Peyton Greene and Meghan Maxey


Henderson Independent High School

Eight seniors will graduate from Henderson Independent High School this year.

The graduation ceremony will be held June 13 at 8 a.m. in Henderson’s auditorium. Eddie Smith will be the Keynote speaker, and Kevona Williams will be the student speaker.


East Rowan High School

A total of 243 seniors will graduate from East Rowan High School this year.

The commencement ceremony will take place June 13 at 8 a.m. in East Rowan’s football stadium. The speakers for this year’s ceremony will be Valedictorian Jason Troutman, Salutatorian Jacob Durham and Senior Class President Grace Stokes.

East Rowan’s Junior Marshals will be Kaitlyn Mikael Burgess, Rachel Alexandra Eller, Corbin Alexander Elliott, James Isaiah Emerson, Charles Addison Fry, Jocelyn Taylor Lowe, Ashley Brooke Mayhew, Krystal Lynn Rothermund, Sydney Lauren Trexler and Margaret Elizabeth Young.


North Rowan High School

North Rowan High School’s 162 graduates will receive their diplomas at 8 a.m. June 13. The ceremony will take place in North Rowan’s football stadium

Co-valedictorians Carolina Billingsley and Bryant Madison will speak at graduation, as well as salutatorian Morgan Bruce and Jayla Krider.

North Rowan’s Chief Marshal is Robert Monroe, and the other Junior Marshals are Lucas Beam, Phillip Burts, Max Clark, Bryn Gilland, Rebekah Horning, Madison Howe, Gage Jensen, Alton Link, Phillip Martin, Jordan Morrison, Khalil Oglesby, Jacob Pritchard, Timothy Robinson, Victoria Scheve, Tabitha Tulloch and Tiffany Vang.


Salisbury High School

A total of 155 Salisbury High School students will graduate June 13 at 4 p.m. The commencement ceremony will take place at Livingstone College’s auditorium.

The speakers will be Cameron McLendon, Tatyana Streater, Riley Myers, Abraham Post, Gabriel Steinman, Arielle Wimmer and Halle Cowan.

Salisbury High School’s Junior Marshals are Calissa Andersen, Robert Bergstone, Marshall Brady, Makayla Dillon, Maxwell Fisher, Reilly Gokey, Kayla Honeycutt, Samuel McNeely, Emily Miller, Corbin Parrott, Kathryn Rusher, Amelia Steinman, Grace Steinman, Williams Steinman, Matthew Washko, Mimi Webb, Matthew Wooly, Grace Yatawara


South Rowan High School

South Rowan High School’s commencement ceremony will take place June 13 at 8 a.m. in the school’s football stadium.

There will be 248 students graduating.

South Rowan’s commencement speakers will be Nathan Cobb and Augusta Shaver, and Junior Marshals will be Holly Alexandria Barnes, Kiala Rose Dyer, Andrew Neil Eller, Michala Symone Grant, Josefina Marin Gutierrez, Micah Victoria Helms, Kaleb Sebastian King, Katelyn Marie Lipe, Aleena Paige Manning, Dillion Keith Minehart, Bethany Hope Roberson and Hayley Noel Roberts.


Jesse C. Carson High School

Carson High School has 261 graduates this year and will also hold its graduation ceremony June 13, but it will take place at 10 a.m. in the school’s basketball gym.

Speakers will be Miranda Brady, Makenna Pate, Ryan Turney and Austin Young.

Junior Marshals will be Joshua Cates, Bryson Collins, Nickolas Cox, Rachel Gunsch, Morgan Hester, Susannah Horton, Megan Huffman, Garrett Ingold, Samantha Liddle, Landon Perkins, Kelly Short, Shirley Trayah, Ashlee Wagoner, Grayson Whicker and Alden Wright.


A.L. Brown High School

Kannapolis’ only high school, A.L. Brown will hold its graduation ceremony June 13 at 9 a.m. at Kannapolis Memorial Stadium. A total of 265 students will graduate. The speaker will be Larry Efrid.