• 48°

Local Bridge with Myrnie McLaughlin

Jeffers and Brisbin Receive Awards

We had a great game on Friday, Jan. 23 at Evergreen. Ron Jeffers received the June Evans award earned by the NLM gaining the most points between our Women’s Club and Evergreen games. Ron and his wife Shirley have been a welcome addition to our Salisbury group. Dick Brisbin had his Life Master celebration and also was awarded the Phil Sowers trophy for earning the most points in both games for players at any level. The Sowers award was not originally awarded for this, but we don’t know for what the award was given and decided to keep the trophy in play with this new designation.

Lately I have been writing about irregularities occurring at our games. If you have recognized yourself in these articles I want you to know that the irregularities, not you, were the focus. These occurrences gave me ideas on what to write and I hoped the answers would be generally informative.

Friday, Jan. 23 was a Club Championship game with winners receiving higher points than usual. Winners N/S: First, Ron and Shirley Jeffers; second, Pat Macon and Judy Gealy; third, Dick Brisbin and Pat Featherston.

E/W winners: First, Georgia Sorensen and Loyd Hill; second, John and Myrnie McLaughlin; third, Christy Cline and Fern Albracht.

Winning pairs over-all: First, Ron and Shirley Jeffers; second, Georgia Sorensen and Loyd Hill,; third, and Myrnie McLaughlin; fourth, Christy Cline and Fern Albracht; fifth,  Pat Macon and Judy Gealy.

Highlighted is board # 18 from the Jan. 23 game.  N/S vulnerable  East dealer


S  Q 5

H  J 8 7 3

D  K 8

C  K Q T 8 6

WEST:                    EAST:

S  K J 9 7 6 3          S  A 4

H  K 9 4                   H  Q 6 5 2

D  6                          D  Q T 7 4 3 2

C  5 3 2                     C  J


S  T 8 2

H  A T

D  A J 9 5

C  A 9 7 4

The Wayne Pegram/Maggie Canup pair had the best N/S score being the only pair to bid 3NN making 4. E/W Betty Bills and BettyBonner Steele defeated 4CN 2 tricks. Five out of seven N/S pairs bid Clubs with negative results.

Tuesday, Jan. 27 Women’s Club winners: First, John and Myrnie McLaughlin; second, Marie Pugh and Loyd Hill.

About Post Lifestyles

Visit us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SalPostLifestyle/ and Twitter @postlifestlyes for more content

email author More by Post



Fluctuating COVID-19 death number back to 302 in Rowan County


Habitual felon sentenced to at least 8 years in prison


City of Kannapolis to have bike rodeo Saturday


Two more charged for operating illegal gambling businesses


A.L. Brown celebrates seniors with signing day


Rebounding, but not recovered: Rowan County tourism begins challenging path toward normalcy

High School

High school baseball: Padgett leads Mustangs; 100th win for West coach Graham


RSS superintendent, Board of Health discuss strategies for increasing student vaccination rates


East Spencer charter school files petition to contest charter revocation


Gas stations report shortages as pipeline shutdown drags on


Lawyers: Black man didn’t drive into deputies who shot him


Liz Cheney says Trump and GOP backers threaten democracy


Rowan Health Department clarifies county’s COVID-19 death total is 301


Landis approves new land development ordinance, zoning map


Landis approves body camera, stun gun purchase for public safety officers


One charged, another dead on sheriff’s most wanted list


No injuries after car shot eight times on Old Concord Road


RSS talks first steps for new federal relief totaling $66 million

China Grove

Gary’s Barbecue staff, customers look back at 50 years


Salisbury Lions Club names Person of the Year, Lion of the Year at 78th annual banquet


Student COVID-19 numbers show first decline since plan A

High School

High school golf: Fowler competes in state tournament


Amazon announces new distribution center for North Carolina


House passes bill to bar Cooper from mandating COVID shot