• 64°

Area Sports Briefs: All-CCC teams announced

From staff reports

All-CCC football

North Rowan running back Jareke Chambers was named Central Carolina Conference Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Chambers rushed for 1,581 yards and scored 21 touchdowns. He’ll complete his prep career in the Shrine Bowl.

North Rowan’s Joe Nixon was named CCC Coach of the Year for the second straight season  after leading the Cavaliers to another 5-0 league mark and a 10-3 overall record.

Thomasville linebacker Akeem Davis, an Appalachian State commit, was named CCC Defensive Player of the Year.

North Rowan defensive lineman Shane Parker was runner-up in the player of the year voting.

Joining Chambers and Parker on the All-CCC team from North Rowan are QB  Alexis Archie,  running back Andre Cowan, receivers Sakil Harrison and Shareef Walker, offensive lineman Malik McGee, kicker Jacob Young, linebacker Kenyaun Coney, DBs Jaleel Hitchens and Trae Clark and defensive linemen Wesley Jefferies and Jake Pritchard.

Salisbury’s All-CCC players are running backs Willie Clark and Antwond Glenn,  offensive lineman Michael Dyson, receiver Ryan Jones kicker Steven Mazur, linebackers D.J. Alexander and J.C. Burton, DB Darius Jackson and defensive linemen Jordan Oglesby and Desmond Millsaps.

All-CCC soccer

Salisbury’s Landon Goodman was named CCC Offensive Player of the Year for soccer, while Salisbury’s Christian Uribe was named CCC Defensive Player of the Year. Also making All-CCC from Salisbury were Michael Brown, Reilly Gokey Salisbury, Andrew Kalogeromitros Salisbury, Arturo Ramirez Salisbury, Josh Lynch and Ahmedin Salcinovic.

The CCC Coach of the Year is Lexington’s Tim DeZego.

All-CCC tennis

Salisbury’s Kayla Honeycutt was the CCC Player of the Year and was joined on the All-CCC tennis team by  teamates Grace Steinman, Kathryn Rusher, Maria Capito, Emily Capito and Julia Honeycutt.

North Rowan’s Samantha Pritchard and Veronica Leasure made All-CCC.

Salisbury’s Scott Maddox was the CCC Coach of the Year.

All-CCC golf

Salisbury’s Grace Yatawara was the CCC Player of the Year.

Salisbury’s Isabella Rusher, Shelby Holden and Carolina Parrott joined Yatawara on the All-CCC team.

Salisbury’s Dale Snyder and West Davidson’s David Klinkoski shared CCC Coach of the Year honors.

All-CCC volleyball

Salisbury’s Juliana Anderson was named CCC Player of the Year for volleyball.

Anderson was joined on the All-CCC team by Hornets Maddie Gentry, Mary Seifert and Lora Withers.

North Rowan’s Demeria Robinson and Aliyah Farmer made All-CCC.

West Davidson’s Michael Green was named CCC Coach of the Year. Salisbury’s Mallory Hodge and East Davidson’s Kim Warrick were runners-up.


Catawba basketball

Catawba’s men’s baskeball team lost 88-52 at Division I Radford in an exhibition game on Sunday.

Freshman Jameel Taylor  led the Indians with 11 points.

Radford jumped out to leads of 7-0 and 20-5 before Catawba rallied to trail 32-27 but the Highlanders finished the half strong for a 41-29 lead the break.

Radford opened up a 21-point lead early in the second half and pulled away.

Jerrin Morrison had eight points and eight rebounds for Catawba.

Catawba is home for Tuesday against Newberry.


Taylor 11, Perkins 8, Morrison 8, Arrington 7, R. Brown 7,  Warren 3, Sealey 3, Henderson 3, Marijosius, Burney.


Green 17, Davis 13, Price 11, Jones 8, Dyer 7,  K. Brown 7, Noreen 6, Holcomb 6, Carethers 6, Owens 4, Anderson 3.

Catawba 29 23  —  52

Radford 41 47 —  88

 Men’s hoops

Nate Jones (Davie) scored 38 points as Davidson County Community College rolled 135-53 against the Belmont Abbey jayvees on Sunday.

Tre Williams (Carson) had 11 points and seven rebounds for the Storm.


  Women’s hoops

Bubbles Phifer (Salisbury)  hit 3-pointers and scored 11 points in J.C. Smith’s win against North Greenville on Sunday.

College cross country

Matthew Jordan-Steele finished in 59th place to lead   Catawba runners  in the D-II Cross Country Southeast Regional hosted at Montevallo.

Erica Boles led Catawba’s women. She placed 115th.

•  Tori Gaul (East Rowan) led Carson-Newman in the regional. She was 84th.

College swimming

Catawba closed out the final day of the Wingate Fall Frenzy on Sunday at the Mecklenburg Aquatic Center with two more school records. Nadine Brockmann added her second of the meet in the 100 free and Dominik Brus posted a new mark in the 200 back.

As a team, the Catawba women placed 11th among 14 teams, with the men taking eighth out of 11. Queens took top honors in both men’s and women’s action.

Prep wrestling

Carson finished second in a 21-team field at the Rumble at the Ridge in Waxhaw.

Carson’s Jaron McMasters (152), Brandon Sloop (182), Anthony McCurry (220) and  Alex Lyles (285) won individual championships.   David Griffin was third at 113, while Deven Youker was fourth at 106.

Local golf

Results from the Jerry Barger Memorial Golf Tournament played at Corbin Hills over the weekend.

The team of Lee Frick, Kevin Lentz and Blake Wray shot 62-59-121 and won the Championship Flight in a scorecard playoff with the team of Keith Dorsett, Michael Dorsett and Ryan Honeycutt (60-61 —121)

The team of Ken Clarke, Joey Boley and  Jake Kennedy tied for the low round on Sunday with a score of 59.

First Flight:

1st — Tracy Melnik, Jim McDowell, Dean Flanagan (65-64 — 129), won in scorecard playoff

2nd —  Justin Lefler, Seth Waller, Jared Barnette (64-65 — 129)

Second Flight:

1st — Steve McIntyre, Dwayne McIntyre, Robin McIntyre (68-63 — 131);  2nd —  Adam Jordan, Joe Clark, Zach Kesler (70-66 — 136)

Twenty-three 3-man teams competed in the 1st annual Jerry Barger Memorial Tournament.  Corbin Hills thanks    players, sponsors, volunteers and the Barger family for making the event a huge success. Sponsors included Duke University Football Staff, Piedmont Distributors, R.H. Barringer, Olive Garden, Pine Wild Country Club, The Club at Irish Creek, Duke University Club and  Titleist Golf.






Blotter: Man accused of stealing car, crashing it


Man faces new charge of attempted murder for father’s shooting


Gov. Cooper lifts indoor mask mandate for most situations, gathering limits


Barnes gets new punishment of two life sentences in Tutterow couple’s 1992 murder

High School

High school football: State’s top honor goes to Jalon Walker


Scout’s Honor: With dedication of flag retirement box, Salem Fleming earns Eagle Scout rank


North Carolina king, queen of NCAA lacrosse tourneys


Kannapolis seniors walk elementary schools


Local real estate company employees come out in force to build Habitat house


Quotes of the week


Auditors find oversight lacking for $3 billion of state’s pandemic aid


When will gas situation return to normal?


Rowan native Shuping posthumously receives Concord Police Department’s Medal of Valor, Purple Heart


Black high school softball player told to cut hair


GOP measure on penalties for rioting draws fire


State shows 303 COVID-19 deaths in Rowan


CDC: Fully vaccinated people can largely ditch masks indoors


One arrested, another hospitalized in Castor Road stabbing

China Grove

China Grove Roller Mill open for tours Saturday


Facing personnel deficiencies, local fire departments request tax rate increases


‘Panic buying’ creates gas supply shortages locally, statewide after pipeline cyberattack


Twice as nice: Planet Smoothie opens alongside Cold Stone Creamery in co-branded store


Spencer board gets update on South Iredell rat problem


West Rowan teacher awarded $15,000 outdoor learning grant