Students and faculty admitted to Catawba’s teacher education program

Published 5:09 pm Thursday, October 23, 2014

Catawba College News Service

Forty-six Catawba College students and two faculty members were honored in a formal pinning ceremony held in Hedrick Little Theatre on Oct. 7. The event marked the formal admission of these individuals into the Catawba’s teacher education program.

The ceremony was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators. Cassie Thompson spoke to teacher education students about her experience in transitioning from a career in broadcast journalism to classroom teacher. Thompson is the 2014 Rowan-Salisbury School System Teacher of the Year. The event was followed by a reception in the Peeler Crystal Lounge, sponsored by the Goodman School of Education.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing, and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba included Andrea Bell, Franklin; Caitlin Billings, High Point; Heather Boyles, King; Kyle Bridges, Kannapolis; Samantha Brown, Salisbury; Emily Canipe, Salisbury; Lindsay Crawford, Lenoir; Bethany Davis, Salisbury; Ashley Everidge, Hamptonville; Mary Feola, Sea Isle City, N.J.; Kristin Ferebee, Mocksville; Uriah Futch, Mt. Airy; Rachel Gallup, Fredericksburg, Va.; Carmen Grubb, Mocksville; Alexandra Hulsey, San Diego, Calif.; Demi Hutson, Mt. Airy; Marisa Lentz, China Grove; Kyle Mechling, Quinton, Va.; Shannon O’Donnell, Land O’ Lakes, Fla.; Allison Parker, Mount Ulla; Destiny Pearcy, Mocksville; Ethan Pethel, Kannapolis; Katherine Quijada, Cooleemee; Laura Rodgers, Raleigh; Richard Shuping, Jamestown; Brinsley Stewart, Boonville; Morgan Summers, Gastonia; Sophie Waller, Watford, U.K.; Jordan Warren, Salisbury; and Kayela Wilson, Salisbury.

Those pinned from Catawba’s birth-kindergarten program included Dana Barnhardt, Concord; Ashley Burkhart, Lexington; Sheila Chambers, Salisbury; Jackie Doub, Advance; Whitney Foster, Lexington; Jamie Gordon, Thomasville; Jennifer Kendall, China Grove; Patty Louia, Lexington; Anne Manor, Thomasville; Amanda Marshall, Rural Hall; Anabel Melgar, Lexington; Julia Peck, Salisbury; Amy Rose, Mocksville; Nicole Shaw, Charlotte; Erica Watson, Spencer; and Shanae Webb, Salisbury.

Dr. Kim Creamer, language arts and social studies education coordinator, of Clemmons, and Dr. Tom Appenzeller, health and physical education coordinator, of Marshville, were also pinned as the newest members of the teacher education faculty.

Faculty advisor for the organization is Amanda Bosch. Officers for the 2014-2015 academic year include Courtney Foster, president, Lexington; Noelle Murray, vice president, Hull, Mass.; Chantel Davis, secretary, Mt. Airy; and Amy Cujas, treasurer, Mocksville.