3 Indians, Whitaker on first team All-SAC

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, August 6, 2014

The South Atlantic Conference released its 2014 preseason football poll as well as the preseason all-conference teams on Tuesday.
Catawba was picked sixth in the coaches poll, while placing four players on the all-conference teams.
Carson-Newman was voted No. 1 by the SAC’s head coaches. The Eagles collected four first-place votes and 46 points from the panel. Carson-Newman placed 11 players on the preseason All-SAC team.
Lenoir-Rhyne placed second in the voting with four first and 45 total points. The Bears were national runners-up in 2013.
L-R fullback Ike Whitaker (Salisbury) was a first team All-SAC pick.
Rounding out the poll were Newberry, Wingate, Mars Hill, Catawba, Tusculum and Brevard.
Catawba (6-5, 3-4) totalled 21 points. Linebacker Jason Taylor, offensive lineman Taylor Fender, and defensive lineman Jonathan Jean are preseason All-SAC first team.
Catawba running back Cary Littlejohn was a second team pick.
The SAC season gets under way on Thursday, Sept. 4, with Carson-Newman vs. Tusculum. The rest of the league kicks off Saturday, Sept. 6.
All-SAC First Team Offense
QB – W.T. Murden, Newberry
RB – Shaikel Davis, Mars Hill
RB – Jarrod Spears, Lenoir-Rhyne
RB – Isaiah Whitaker, Lenoir-Rhyne
WR – Dimitri Holmes, Mars Hill
WR – Justin Houston, Tusculum
WR – Deon Hicks, Tusculum
OL – Denzell Goode, Mars Hill
OL – Joe Ray, Lenoir-Rhyne
OL – Taylor Fender, Catawba
OL – Will Poteat, Wingate
OL – Nick Allison, Mars Hill
TE – Wesley Powell, Tusculum
LS – Dusty Nance, Carson-Newman
P – Kyle Clark, Newberry
PK – Patrick Smith, Wingate

All-SAC First Team Defense
DL – Blake Baker, Lenoir-Rhyne
DL – Javaris Neal, Carson-Newman
DL – Nick Napolitano, Wingate
DL – Jonathan Jean, Catawba
LB – Tanner Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Edmond Robinson, Newberry
LB – Michael Gruber, Brevard
LB – Jason Taylor, Catawba
DB – Eien Jacob, Carson-Newman
DB – O’neil Blake, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Jon Jimenez, Wingate
DB – Dante Thomas, Carson-Newman
RS – Andre Overholt, Brevard

All-SAC Second Team Offense
QB – De’Andre Thomas, Carson-Newman
RB – Kelvin Jeter, Brevard
RB – Andy Hibbett, Carson-Newman
RB – Cary Littlejohn, Catawba
WR – Jordan Berry, Wingate
WR – Anthony Eubanks, Carson-Newman
WR – Byron Dickerson, Newberry
OL – Landon Martin, Newberry
OL – Robbie Ignagni, Carson-Newman
OL – Evan Sobocinski, Newberry
OL – Billy Munker, Tusculum
OL – Mathu Gibson, Wingate
TE – Brandon Ellington, Wingate
LS – Andrew Smith, Newberry
P – Charlie Rhea, Carson-Newman
PK – Kyle Clark, Newberry

All-SAC Second Team Defense
DL – William Alderman, Carson-Newman
DL – Johnny Maxey, Mars Hill
DL – Alstevis Squirewell, Newberry
DL – Steven Jacobs, Wingate
LB – Rodney Singleton, Lenoir-Rhyne
LB – Jasper Mason, Mars Hill
LB – Taylor McDonnell, Newberry
LB – Wayne Soliai, Tusculum
DB – Joe Anderson, Lenoir-Rhyne
DB – Jakeem Polk, Wingate
DB – LiRonta Archie, Tusculum
DB – Lance Richardson, Newberry
RS – TraShaun Ward, Carson-Newman