Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, July 31, 2014

The following students enrolled at Virginia Tech were named to the dean’s list for the spring 2014 semester. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A through F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average on a 4.0 scale during the semester: Jordan A. Berning of Mooresville, a senior majoring in political science; Westin E. Keeler of Mooresville, a senior majoring in mechanical engineering and Joshua M. Schiemann of Salisbury, a junior majoring in human development.
Carolinas HealthCare System’s Cabarrus Family Medicine awarded accomplished area high school students with college scholarships at its 10th annual college scholarship dinner held on July 28. This year’s event, part of a program developed to honor local future leaders, recognized selected students from Cabarrus, Rowan, Stanly and northern Mecklenburg counties.
Cabarrus Family Medicine’s College Scholarship is awarded to students with demonstrated academic achievement and continued involvement in community service activities. While selected students must demonstrate a commitment to improving the community, an interest or intention to enter the medical field is not required. Each recipient receives $1,000 toward his or her first year of continued education, and the scholarship is renewable for one year.
Recipients of the 2014 Cabarrus Family Medicine College Scholarship are Haley Leazer, of South Rowan High School, who will be attending the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and Anna Wallace of A.L. Brown High School, who will be attending Appalachian State University.
Students wishing to apply for either of the Cabarrus Family Medicine scholarships next year may obtain an application from their school’s guidance counselor in the spring semester of the school year.
Jalyn Neely, daughter of Cassondra Heilig, received an educational grant awarded by the local chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. The Delta Xi Omega chapter awarded scholarships to Neely and eight other students. Neely will attend North Carolina A&T State University.