Rowan 10s win state

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Rowan County Little League’s 10U girls softball team beat Dare County 12-2 in five innings to win the state championship on Tuesday in Franklin.
Rowan advances to the regional tournament of State Champions in Clarksville, Tenn., on July 25-30.
• Rowan County Little League’s 8U girls softball team also won the state championship.

Youth baseball
East Rowan’s 10U all-stars won the third game of their WNC Cal Ripken state championship series 12-8 over China Grove on Tuesday and captured East’s first Cal Ripken state championship.
China Grove won 15-10 to force Game 3.
Eastadvances to the Southeast Regional in Matthews next week.
• East’s 9U all-stars were rained out Tuesday night in Lexington and will try again tonight. East plays Surry North in the state championship series.

After a weather delay of 2 1/2 hours, High Point and the Moors wer able to resume their American Legion game late Tuesday night. High Point won 15-4 in seven innings to take the series three games to one.
High Point and Winston-Salem will start their Area III championship series on Friday at a site to be announced.

Tyrese Rice, who led Maccabi Tel Aviv to the Euroleague championship and was named Final Four MVP, has signed a three-year deal with Khimki Moscow.
Rice was born in Salisbury and spent some early years here. He is the son of former Salisbury High standout Allison Rice.
Rice scored the winning basket in a Euroleague semifinal against CSKA Moscow and had 14 overtime points in the final against Real Madrid.
Rice, 27, played at Boston College and was first team All-ACC in 2008 when he averaged 21.0 points per game.
He had a 46-point game against UNC in March, 2008, that included 34 in the first half.
Rice wasn’t drafted by the NBA. He played pro ball in Greece, Germany and Lithuania before moving on to Israeli champion Maccabi Tel Aviv.
North Rowan running back Jareke Chambers was named to the preseason 2A All-State team by the North Carolina Prep Football News.
Concord running back Rocky Reid was named preseason 3A player of the year.

Logan Shuping shot even-par 71 to finish tied for first in his age group and tied for second overall in a Tarheel Youth Golf Association one-day event held Tuesday at the Country Club of Salisbury.

Results from the Club Championship:
Championship Division
1st — Chris Owen 71-70 — 140
2nd — Charlie Graeber 75-71 — 146
Tie, 3rd — Stan Honeycutt 78-72 — 150
Tie, 3rd — Tyler Mulkey 75-75-150
Men’s Open Division
Low Gross — Curtis Kyles
Low Net — Jim Michael
Senior Division
Low Gross — Jon Post
Low Net — Victor Wallace
Super Senior Division
Low Gross — Bob Mangum
Low Net — David Roueche
Women’s Division
Low Gross — Kristi Laton
Low Net — Kathy Carlton
Junior Division
Boys (10-13) Champion — Luke Graeber
Boys (14-17) Champion — Alex Antosek
David Arrowood made a hole-in-one at Lexington Golf Club.
Arrowood aced the 150-yard No. 12 hole with a 7-iron. Witnessing the feat were Sam Nash, Larry Bowyer, Gene Miller, Warren Rice and Tom Kiger.
It was the first hole-in-one for Arrowood in 40 years on the links.
The Kannapolis Intimidators lost 7-6 at Augusta in 12 innings on Tuesday.
Trey Michalczewski drove in three runs for the Intimidators, who scored all their runs in the fifth inning.
• Chris Dula (Catawba) continued his strong relief work in Spokane on Sunday with a scoreless inning and two strikeouts.
In his last five appearances, Dula, who is in the Texas Rangers organization, has fanned six while allowing no walks and no hits.
Catawba women’s lacrosse coach Jordan Clodfelter announced eight signings: Madison Anselmo (Port Jefferson Station, N.Y.), Caroline Beggs (St. Johns, Fla.), Elena Bosco (Charleston, S.C.), Kennadi Holt (Kernersville), Hannah Scott (Centreville, Md.), Megan Shortt (Kernersville), Hope Woods (Burlington, Conn.) and Brooke Wright (Kernersville).
Shortt set a national record with 459 career goals. Shortt notched at least 100 goals four straight seasons.
: 122 in 2011, 116 in 2012, 100 in 2013 and 121 in 2014. She was the conference MVP four years and area player of the year three times.