East takes SPC baseball honors

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 28, 2014

East Rowan second baseman Michael Caldwell has been named South Piedmont Conference Player of the Year, East’s Connor Johnson who went 10-0, has been named SPC Pitcher of the Year, and East’s Brian Hightower has been named SPC Coach of the Year, after leading the Mustangs to 13-3 league season and the conference championship.
Also making All-SPC from East were shortstop Ike Freeman, center fielder/catcher Luke Setzer and pitcher Chase Jarrett.
Making All-SPC from West Rowan were catcher Michael Pinkston, third baseman Juan Garcia, right fielder Harrison Baucom and pitcher/left fielder Michael Ball.
All-SPC from Carson were pitcher/first baseman Colton Laws, pitcher Dillon Atwell and first baseman/left fielder/pitcher Heath Mitchem.
South Rowan All-SPC players are right fielder Tyler Fuller, catcher Matt Honeycutt and first baseman Chase Labbe.
Rounding out the team are Cox Mill’s Austin Fox and Julian Smith, Concord’s Cody Franklin, Central Cabarrus’ Tillman Cook and Northwest Cabarrus’ Eric Hamilton.
West Rowan junior shortstop Hunter Gibbons, who blasted 10 homers, was named SPC Softball Player of the year. Jimmy Greene, who guided West Rowan to regular-season and conference tournament championships was named SPC Coach of the Year.
Also making All-SPC from West were catcher Marissa Yow, second baseman Taylor Martin, pitcher-first baseman Peyton Greene and center fielder Cat Whitley,
Carson’s All-SPC players are shortstop Michaela White and slugger Mariah Morgan. South Rowan pitchers Logan Lowery and Samantha Kennerly made All-SPC, along with East Rowan’s power-hitting Kaleigh Troutman.
Central Cabarrus’ Brittany Guidera was named SPC Pitcher of the Year.
Other All-SPC players are Central’s Kaylee Freeman, Maddie Furr and Taylor Caviness; Hickory Ridge’s Mary Hart, Lindsey Powell and Brezzy Yelton; Cox Mill’s Kendele Donaldson and Ericka David; Northwest’s Abby Peterson, and Concord’s Kat Craver.
East Rowan’s Kennedy Lambert was named SPC Keeper of the Year.
Cox Mill’s Shayna Wolery was honored as SPC Player of the Year. Cox Mill’s Kellie Pierrot was named SPC Coach of the Year.
Other Rowan players on the All-SPC soccer team were Carson’s Sarah Safrit, Cassie Howard, Katie Nichols, Katie Barringer and Cierra Josey; West Rowan’s Claudia Patterson and Mariah Coleman, and East’s Kelby Porter.

All-SPC boys track
Carson thrower MyQuon Stout was named SPC Field Athlete of the Year, West Rowan’s Raykwon Torrence was named SPC Sprinter of the Year, NWC’s Gil Gilreath was named Distance Runner of the Year, and East Rowan’s Jason Barnes was named SPC Coach of the Year.
East’s Chase Brown, Calvin Edwards, Colton Trexler, Connor Honeycutt, Devoniel Dale, Donte Means, Jason Basso, Josh Little, Josh Rowell, Joshua Moses, Justin Allen, Marshall Shank, Tad Bowers, Wesley Haynes and Willie McCree were All-SPC.
Carson’s Andrew Hower, Nick Cox, Tre Williams, Tyler Mason and Zachary Marchinko joined Stout on the All-SPC team.
West Rowan’s Chris Patterson and Daisean Reddick joined Torrence on the All-SPC team.

All-SPC girls track
West Rowan jumper Khaila Hall was named Field Athlete of the Year for the SPC.
Other honorees were NWC distance runner Maddie Lowe, NWC cocah Daniel Helms and SPC Sprinter of the Year Millie McCoy.
All-SPC athletes from South Rowan wer Dakotah Lambert and Brittany Luckey.
All-SPC from West were Hall, Alison Manley, Rebecca Parker and Takala Lyles.
All-SPC from East were Brittany Small, Haley Lyerly, Jocelyn Lowe, Melonye McCree, Shenell Pharr, Shenique Pharr, Taylor Hodges, Taylor Kirk, Tori Gaul and Katie Barnes.

All-SPC boys tennis
East Rowan’s Ainsley Kovanda was named SPC Coach of the Year after leading the Mustangs to an 8-0 SPC season.
Ike Emerson, Justin Allen, Chance Brown and Robert Gray made All-SPC.
Carson’s Marshall Wood, Jonathan Martin and Graham Purcell made All-SPC.
NWC’s Kyle Kennedy was the SPC Player of the Year.

All-SPC boys golf
West Rowan’s Jake Kennedy was the SPC Golfer of the Year, while South Rowan’s Steve Beaver was the SPC Coach of the Year.
South’s Davis Richards, Evan Neas and Hunter Chapman are on the All-SPC team.
East Rowan’s Nick Lyerly and Logan Shuping made All-SPC.

Intimidators baseball
James Dykstra pitched six scoreless innings to lead Kannapolis to a 3-0 win against Hickory on Tuesday.
Kannapolis rapped out 11 singles.

Minor leagues
Daniel Wagner(South Rowan) had three hits on Monday for Birmingham and had a double on Tuesday.
Wagner has started the last six games.

American Legion
Rowan County is on the road tonight at Randolph County and returns home to play Eastern Randolph on Thursday.
• Southern Rowan is at home tonight against Mocksville.
• Kannapolis is at Mooresville Post 537.
Post 537 lost to Concord 13-1 on Monday. Jamisen Eibacker drove in the run for the Legends in the seventh.

Junior Legion
Carson scored seven runs in the seventh and beat West Rowan 7-5 on Tuesday.
• Post 537 Junior Legion won 6-5 on Sunday against Huntersville. Matt Van Dyne won in relief.

Prep baseball
East Davidson fell 12-2 to Bunker Hill in the first round of the 2A Western championship series on Tuesday.
Colton Chapman went 4-for-4 and Jordan Eckard homered for Bunker Hill. Nick Williams took the loss.
East Davidson was held to three hits and made four errors.

College sports
For the 34th and final time, Appalachian State won the Southern Conference’s Commissioner’s Cup, which is awarded annually to the league’s top all-around men’s sports program.

Local golf
In the Rolling Hills Thursday Scramble, Henry Morgan, Lee Fesperman, JR Howard and Johnny Carpenter won the front and back nines.
In a Memorial Day Tournament at Rolling Hills, Drue Davis, Mike Morgan, Larry Morris, David Fesperman and Teresa Rouecher were the winners.

Sacred Heart
Sacred Heart Catholic School wrapped up its athletic year with a banquet.
Over 100 athletes were recognized.
Special awards were given to 8th-grade leaders. Miriam Roy and Michael Childress received the Mike Thompson Award, in recognition of academic achievement, athletic ability, sportsmanship and overall individual accomplishments.
Roy participated in cheerleading and tennis. Childress was also the recipient of the Athlete of the Year Award. He participated in golf, basketball, soccer, tennis and track. Childress was all-tournament in basketball and soccer and conference medalist in golf.
Will Taylor was the co-recipient of the Athlete of the Year award. He participated in basketball, soccer, golf, tennis and baseball and was on soccer and basketball all-tournament teams.
Julia Honeycutt was the female recipient of the Athlete of the Year award. She participated in cheerleading, soccer, basketball, volleyball, tennis, track and cross country. She was awarded conference MVP and as all-tournament in basketball.
Melvin Bonilla and Leah Wyrick received the Sportsmanship Award. Bonilla participated in soccer and basketball and was all-tournament in soccer. Wyrick participated in soccer, basketball, cheerleading and volleyball. She was a a member of the all-tournament basketball team.