Catawba’s Brooks honored

Published 12:00 am Saturday, May 24, 2014

Catawba junior Craig Brooks was named an All-American by Daktronics and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.
Brooks, who also played shortstop, was a second team All-America
pick at pitcher on the Datronics team that is chosen by sports information directors and a third team pick by the writers.
Brooks is one of eight finalists for the D-II Pitcher of the Year Award that will be announced Monday.
Catawba reliever Ryan McClintock, who set a school record with 33 appearances and recorded eight saves, was honorable mention on the NCBWA team.
A tripleheader will be played at Northwest Cabarrus today. Southern Rowan plays Kannapolis at 12, Southern Rowan plays Concord at 3:30, and Concord plays Kannapolis at 7.
• Southern Rowan’s home opener is Monday, Memorial Day. Veterans will get free admission.
The Mooresille Legends won 4-3 against Huntersville. Zach Richardson was the winning pitcher in relief. Josh Armstrong had two hits,
• The Kannapolis O’s won 6-1 against Mooresville on Friday.
Adam Barrows had a two-run double, and Spencer Baucom pitched one-hit ball for six innings.
Drew Miller and Dekota Allen pitched well for the Legends.
Ryan McIntyre pitched a shutout and Nathan Campbell homered to lead East Davidson (19-6) to a fourth-round 4-0 win against West Stanly in the 2A state playoffs.
Damon Smith had two hits for the Colts (21-7).
East Davidson will take on Claremont Bunker Hill in the 2A Western Regional championship series.
Spencer Little League summer baseball sign-ups for boys and girls (ages 4-13) are today at 8th Street Ballpark from 9-1. Registration is $40. Call 704-216-7783.
Salisbury Academy honored athletes during the school’s annual sports banquet, which included a new Alumni Hall of Fame.
Anna Louise Lewis and Drew Shelby received the Sportsmanship Award. Ivy Overcash and Adam Drye received the Jaguar Award. Maria Capito and Ben Coulter received the Athlete of the Year Award.
An addition to this year’s event was the recognition of alumni who have gone on to play college athletics. Allison Lee and Will Collins were inducted into the new Salisbury Academy Hall of Fame.
Award winners for the West Rowan Middle eighth-grade boys basketball team are MVPs Caleb Mauldin and Owen White, Bulldog winner Mykal Berger. Most Improved Bryant Young, and Logan Sproul, Coach’s Award.
Frank Adams III shot 67-69-74 — 210 and tied for 19th in the eGolf Tour’s Willow Creek Open in High Point.
Adams finished 6-under and won $1.975.
Kannapolis (21-25) lost 4-1 at Delmarva on Friday for its fourth straight setback.
Thad Lowry (0-2) took the loss.
Trey Michalczewski had two hits for Kannapolis.
The teams play again tonight at Delmarva.
The 4th Summer Jam Evaluation Basketball Camp will be held June 16-19 at the Benchwarmers Sports Complex in Mooresville.
The camp is for boys and girls. Grades 9-11 from 9-12 daily. Grades 3-8 from 1-4 daily.
The first day of camp clinics cover ballhandling, shooting and passing. The second day is offensive skill work. The third day features footwork and attacking. The final day is live games and video review.
Early registration cost is $60 per player or $50 apiece for two or more players.
After May 31, the cost goes up to $75.
Players receive T-shirts and daily snacks and drinks.
For information, contact Damien Argrett at 704-495-9555. Argrett is a former South Rowan star and Pfeiffer All-American and played professionally in Europe.