Published 12:00 am Monday, May 12, 2014

The staff of Bostian Elementary recognized the following students for standing out as exemplary citizens for April. These students have all gone above and beyond what is expected of them at school.
Kindergarten – Leilynn Honeycutt, Landon Atkinson, Carissa Beije, Christopher Freeman, Gabriel Young, Ayden Atkinson
First grade – Sean Brown, Lita Paschall, Dalton Allen, Emerie Page, Cohen Wilson, Maddie Talley
Second grade – Talon Lackey, Kendall DeNicholas, Holly DiStefano, Dalton Gay, Claire Gibby, Marcus Phillips
Third grade – Phillip Stirewalt, Hunter Wilhelm, Colby Burgess, Braden Edwards, Bailey Fisher, Kara Walters
Fourth grade – Miranda Claus, Owen Blackwelder, Faith Elmore, Alex Madden
Fifth grade – Diamond Stanford, Vanessa Sexton, Monsie Salazar, Keighly Martin
Koontz Elementary School announces its third quarter all-A honor roll recipients in third through fifth grade.
Allie Adamenko, Brittney Flores-Cordero, Daneyda Rebollar Torres, Lorin Kimball, Aden Castor, Lainy Cordova Osario, Whitney Dyer
Mary Margaret Mills of Rowan County and Hannah Burris, Suzanne Jasmine, Elizabeth Rossitch and Lauren Silver of Cabarrus County were honored as Buckly Public Service Scholars at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
The program, part of the Carolina Center for Public Service, supports and strengthens Carolina students’ commitment to service, connects them to others who care about similar issues and guides them through training and course work that make their service more effective. All graduates will receive a Carolina blue and white cord to wear at commencement on May 11 to represent their achievement.
To receive formal recognition, Buckley Public Service Scholars must have a minimum grade-point average, complete at least 300 hours of service, take one service-learning course and attend four skills-training workshops as well as complete a final reflection activity.
The following students have been named to the Dean’s List for the spring semester of the 2013-2014 academic year at Brevard College in Brevard.
Kannapolis – Savannah Cox, Kevin Hamilton, Dalton Johnson
Mooresville – Winston Haddock, Christopher Shore
Landis – Whitney Hardison
Salisbury – Hannah Leonard, Amanda Possidente, Ashley Woods
To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must be enrolled full time and earn a 3.5 grade point average or higher for the semester.