Salisbury Civitans recognize educators

Published 12:00 am Sunday, May 11, 2014

For more than half a century, the Civitan Club of Salisbury has recognized educators at an annual luncheon. At this year’s event on May 1, the club honored seven Rowan County schools by giving each a donation for their media school center. Each school’s principal attended with their Civitan Teacher of the Year. The 2014 honored teachers were :
• West Rowan Middle School—Tabitha Elledge,
• South Rowan HighSchool—Brett Stirewalt,
• Rowan County Early College High School—Charles Patton,
• Southeast Middle School—April Williamson,
• Woodleaf Elementary School—Cassie Thompson,
• Salisbury High School—Sandra Sullivan
• West Rowan High School—Angie Waldo
The Rowan-Salisbury School System’s Teacher of the Year was Alex Reynolds of Jesse Carson High School. The Principal of the Year was Laura Kerr from Rockwell Elementary School. Both attended the luncheon.
Phil Kirk, a Salisbury native and former teacher served as Chief of Staff for Governors Jim Holshouser and Jim Martin and U. S. Senator Jim Broyhill. He held three jobs while a teacher in North Carolina. Kirk said, “North Carolina needs a more modern salary policy for teachers.” Dr. Norman Sloop presided and introduced Mr. Kirk.
The Civitan Club of Salisbury works to raise funds for challenged children, for scholarships and other needs in the Salisbury community. For more information about the club, please contact Club Secretary Mark Beymer at 704-630-0551.