Historic Salisbury Foundation announces 2014 Preservation Awards

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 1, 2014

Historic Salisbury Foundation will honor the past year’s best historic preservation success stories at its 2014 Preservation Awards May 22.
The event will be held at the Salisbury Station, 215 Depot St. A reception will begin at 6:30 p.m., with the awards presentations following.
Reservations are $20 per person and may be purchased at www.historicsalisbury.org, or by calling 704-636-0103 by May 15.
Honorees this year will be:
Commercial Revitalization through Historic Preservation
• Lee Street Theatre, for rehabilitation of an early 20th century railroad warehouse, 329 N. Lee St.
• Emma’s of Salisbury, for a restoration of one of the Lanier Hartman Rental Houses, 209 S. Lee St.
• MG Lounge, for a rehabilitation of an early 20th century former neighborhood store of brick and concrete, 1024 S. Fulton St.
• Go Burrito, for rehabilitation of the Salisbury Water Works Building, 115 W. Fisher St.
• Gray Stout and the Salisbury Business Center, for new construction that is sympathetic and supportive of existing historic fabric, 301 S. Main St.
• KKA Architecture and Livingstone College, for rehabilitation of the James Walker Hood Hall.
Private Preservation and Neighborhood Revitalization
• Tatyana and Harrison Thurston, for restoration of Mrs. Price Tudor House, 305 N. Ellis St.
• Mary and Andy Walker, for rehabilitation of Stokes-Snider House, 324 N. Fulton St.
• Shelley and Jon Palmer, for restoration of M.L. Trexler House, 103 Mitchell Ave.
• Laura and Jeffrey Tullo of Tullo Enterprises LLC, for the restoration of the M.G. McCurdy House, 318 South Ellis St.
• Rachel Oestreicher-Bernheim, for her sun room rehabilitation, 228 S. Fulton St.
Long Time Preservation Leader
• Vivian Hopkins, for her many years of research, preservation and advocacy for the history of Gold Hill.
Preservation Education and Publication
• Luther Sowers, for his work creating a local Revolutionary War film, “Troublous Times.”
• Robert Toth, for his sketch prints of Salisbury houses and architecture.
Preservation Craftsmen and Professionals
• Greg Rapp, for marketing of historic properties and neighborhoods.
• Eberhard Denker, for craftsmanship on the Catawba College President’s House.
• City of Salisbury, for repairs to Shober Bridge and Fisher Street Bridge.
• Karl Sale, for his rehabilitation of the sun room at the Oestreicher-Bernheim residence.
Volunteer of the Year
• Barbara Upright, for her extensive work on the Hall House inventory and Rowan County History Class.
President’s Award
• Don Conner, for his work on construction projects at many Historic Salisbury Foundation properties.
• Anne Lyles, for her work with the Hall House docent training, the Hall House inventory and various community activities. There will be Hall House Docent Awards for dedicated service.
“Insuring that historic sites are protected and their stories are told is a tough job,” the foundation said in a press release. “Hundreds of hours are spent each year, along with blood, sweat and tears, as owners, volunteers and contractors restore the historic buildings that define the character of Rowan County.
“Countless others focus their attention on research of the past and educating others about the importance of our history. Together, their work protects and promotes the special historic character that brings visitors to Salisbury and strengthens the county’s tax base.”