Catawba students win research awards at N.C. Academy of Science meeting

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 17, 2014

For the second time in as many years, two Catawba College students received first place John Bowley Derieux Research Awards, in their respective divisions, for excellence in undergraduate research at the 111th annual meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science meeting.
Juliana Conte of Ontario, Canada, and Finn Furstenwerth of Hamburg, Germany, were recognized at the annual meeting held March 28 and 29 at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Raleigh.
The titles of the students’ research, student co-authors and the professors who assisted these students are as follows:
Juliana Conte, Thomas Benton, Carmony Hartwig and Mark Sabo won first place in Chemistry Physics, Biotechnology and Behavioral Science category for their study titled “Investigating Peroxidation of Lipid by Heme-Artemisinin Adducts in vitro.”
Taylor Spillman, Finn Fürstenwerth, Duncan Cameron and Jay Bolin won first place for the Zooloogy, Botany, Ecology and Environmental Science category for their study, “Isotopic Investigation of Mycoheterotrophy in the Southern Bluethread.”
Drs. Jay F. Bolin and Carmony L. Hartwig are assistant professors of biology at Catawba and Dr. Mark S. Sabo is a professor of chemistry and chair of that department at the college.