— People & Places —

Published 12:00 am Sunday, March 2, 2014

The Salisbury-Rowan AARP Chapter #4314 installed officers for 2014 at the chapter’s annual meeting. The new officers are: Charles Underwood, president; Marianne Orr, vice president; Dolores Shannon, secretary; Eileen Hanson-Kelly, Treasurer.
The following members will serve on the chapter’s board and as committee chairs: Heather Bose, calling committee; Bill Gill, public relations; Mary Frances Edens, health and wellness; Jerry Shelby, legislative action and chapter historian; Marie Richardson, social and recreation; Jo Kearns, program; Marianne Orr, membership.
The chapter expressed its appreciation to the outgoing officers for 2013: Jo Kearns, president; Robbie Ladd, secretary and Donna Wilson, treasurer.
AARP is a nonprofit, non-partisan membership organization. Rowan County residents 50 years and older are invited to join. Members do not have to be retired to join. The annual dues for the chapter are $3.
Chapter meetings are the first Thursday of the month at Rufty-Holmes Senior Center, 1120 S. Martin Luther King, Jr. Ave. at 12:30 p.m. The next meeting will be Thursday, March 6, which will be a covered dish lunch, followed by a short film about the new bridge at the Hoover Dam.
For more information about the AARP Chapter call 704-216-7714.