Spencer fire department honors employees with annual awards

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 18, 2013

SPENCER — The Spencer Fire Department recognized several employees during the annual Christmas and awards dinner held earlier this month.
Firefighter Joseph McClanahan was named Rookie Firefighter of the Year, Acting Capt. Jeremi Carter received the Veteran Firefighter of the Year Award and Capt. Donald Sells was presented with the Fire Chief’s Award.
Service awards were presented to Carter, Firefighter Nick Brazee and Lt. Chris Elstrom for five years of service and Capt. Wayne Comer for 10 years of service.
Guest speaker at the dinner was former Columbia, S.C. captain and current Salisbury Fire Department District Capt. Marquis Solomon. Spencer Mayor Jody Everhart, who also serves as the fire department’s chaplain, attended as well.
The Spencer Fire Department, organized in 1901, includes 25 volunteer and part-time personnel.
Led by Chief Jay Baker, the department serves the 2.3-square-mile area of Spencer and answered 519 calls in 2012. The department shares mutual aid agreements with neighboring towns and districts within Rowan and Davidson counties.