Published 12:00 am Thursday, October 10, 2013

Joe Pinyan actually found out Wednesday, but he had to sleep on it.
Shrine Bowl teams weren’t supposed to be released until 1 p.m. Thursday, so Pinyan followed the rules and waited — and waited — to share the good news. He called the Post at 1:01 or so to announce that Carson’s Myquon Stout was named to North Carolina’s Shrine Bowl team.
Stout, who became Carson’s first state champion when he won the shot put in the 2012 3A track and field championships, is now the Cougars’ first Shrine Bowler.
“It’s such an honor to play in the Shrine Bowl,” Pinyan said. “I’m excited that Carson’s first player in that game is such a great young man.”
Pinyan takes no credit for the person Stout is. Stout was obviously special when he arrived on campus as a freshman. He’s not just a physical specimen, he’s mature and well-spoken beyond his years.
Pinyan has helped him some as a prep football player by switching him to linebacker. It’s much harder to run away from him now than when he was a defensive lineman.
Stout, 6-foot-1, 250 pounds, is likely to return to his lineman duties in the Shrine Bowl and at Appalachian State, where he has verbally committed. He’s a 4.8 runner and bench-presses 365 pounds.
Davie offensive lineman Trip McNeill, a Duke commit, also was chosen for the Shrine game.
Central Cabarrus’ Hasaan Klugh, a guy West will chase around tonight, is one of the N.C. team’s QBs.
Carson is in its eighth season.
It’s actually ahead of schedule as far as producing a Shrine Bowler.
North Rowan opened in 1958, and the first Cavalier Shrine Bowler was lineman Steve Thacker in 1976.
East Rowan opened in 1959. The first Mustangs named to the Shrine Bowl were an aerial tag-team — receiver Johnny Yarbrough and QB C.M. Yates in 1970.
West Rowan opened in 1959. David Drechsler, a future NFL lineman, was the Falcons’ first Shrine Bowler in 1977.
South Rowan opened in 1961. The school’s first Shrine Bowler was future ACC Rookie of the Year Michael Ramseur in 1981.
The first Shrine Bowl was in 1937, making it the oldest football all-star game in the country. Salisbury Boyden’s Don Rabon and Albert Saleeby were the first from their school to be Shrine Bowlers. They were chosen in 1941.
In all, 27 Boyden players made Shrine Bowl teams in the 1940s and 1950s, including Rowan Hall of Famers Bill Peeler, Jerry Barger, Ken Owen and Eddie Kesler.
Kannapolis’ Cannon High produced its first Shrine Bowler in 1939 — Cliff Fowler. The first A.L. Brown Shrine Bowler was Gary Sherrill in 1952. Davie’s first Shrine Bowler was Ronnie Foster in 1965, nine years after Davie opened.
The small Rowan schools contributed a flurry of Shrine Bowlers from 1955-1960, with Carl Drye, Robert Kluttz and Clinton Eudy from China Grove; Oscar Overcash from Landis, and Larry Wagner from Spencer.
Black athletes were named to the N.C. team for the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas for the first time in 1966.
South Carolina integrated its roster one year later.
Boyden’s James Teal, who would go on to play in the NFL, was the first black player from Rowan County to play in the game in 1967.
Prior to integration, there was a black Shrine Bowl. J.C. Price legend Steve Gilmore played in the very first one in 1946 — North Carolina against Virginia in Greensboro — and many Price Red Devils would follow him over the next two decades.
Rowan has a proud tradition in the Shrine Bowl. Stout carries it on.

The picks obviously blew Carson-West last week — Falcons by 18! … right. The lowly 10-3 week dropped the season mark to 44-10.
Rebuilding confidence with a 6-0 vs. 0-6 game:
North 42, Lexington 14

Hornets have waited patiently to play a 2A team, but E. Davidson is pretty good:
E. D. 28, Salisbury 10

Shocked ER lost last week:
Northwest 27, East 21

Carson has a 1-0 edge in Shrine Bowlers:
Carson 42, South 7

Out on a limb here, but we all know West hasn’t lost two in a row in 11 years:
West 31, C. Cabarrus 28

Finally, a breather for the Wonders:
Brown 52, Robinson 13

Also: Thomasville 27, W. Davidson 21; Concord 49, Cox Mill 20; Mallard Creek 35, Hough 28; Vance 54, W. Charlotte 20; North Meck 35, Hopewell 14; Mt. Tabor 35, Reagan 31; N. Davidson 60, Parkland 7; W. Forsyth 42, R.J. Reynolds 13.