Merriman named Kannapolis Teacher of the Year

Published 12:00 am Friday, September 6, 2013

KANNAPOLIS — Rebecca Merriman, kindergarten teacher at Jackson Park Elementary School, has been named Kannapolis City Schools’ 2013 Teacher of the Year.
The decision was announced this morning during the school system’s annual Teacher of the Year breakfast at the North Carolina Research Campus.
Prior to coming to Kannapolis in 2012, Merriman spent six years teaching in Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. After just one year at Jackson Park Elementary, Merriman’s peers selected her as their Teacher of the Year.
As the system-wide winner, she received $1,000 from SunTrust Bank. She will now be considered for regional Teacher of the Year honors.
Kathleen Woerner of Kannapolis Intermediate School was named the system’s runner-up Teacher of the Year and received $500 from SunTrust Bank.
The remaining nominees received $100 from SunTrust:
• Larry Efird, A. L. Brown High School
• Trisha Hill, Fred L. Wilson Elementary School
• Danah Hughes, Kannapolis Middle School
• Molly Smith, Forest Park Elementary School
• Melissa Stanley, Woodrow Wilson Elementary School
• Margie Zimmerman, Shady Brook Elementary School
Read more about the breakfast and the Teacher of the Year in Saturday’s Salisbury Post.