• 57°

If you liked ‘Left Behind,’ you might like these series

For fans of the Left Behind Series, author Tim LaHaye has teamed up with several other authors to create two additional series of exciting fiction.
The End Series was written with Craig Parshall and could be taken from the front page of any local or national newspaper. Book 1 of the series, “Edge of Apocalypse,” mixes international instability, national security concerns and economic distress with fascinating characters. The book’s hero, Joshua Jordon, has developed a new weapons defense system which can keep America secure. But global forces and the inner workings of Congress and the FCC are working against the further development of this system. That is, until North Korea sends a nuclear weapon aimed at New York City.
The second book, “Thunder Heaven,” has Jordon’s reputation on the line when his controversial RTS system fails to protect flight 199 as it takes off from Chicago. The government starts an investigation of Joshua’s entire defense program. Joshua flies to the Middle East to assure the Israelis that the technology is reliable. He is captured by Iranians who want the secrets of the defense tool for their use.
In the third book, “Brink of Chaos,” Jordan remains in Israel during his self-imposed exile out of the reach of U.S. authorities who have trumped up false criminal treason charges against him — all taking place during an election year in the United States where corruption threatens to block the election of a worthy president. Israel is cleaning up following the invasion by Russia and setting out on its seven-year plan — both per the prophecies of Ezekiel.
The fourth book in the series, “Mark of Evil,” is due for release in February 2014.
In the other series, Soul Survivor, Tim LaHaye co-authors the books with David Noebel. The first book, “Mind Siege,” the authors give a wake-up call for Christians to fight the tide of popular beliefs and win the battle of your mind,
Book two, co-authored by Bob Demoss, “All The Rave,” takes place at a waterfront warehouse in Philadelphia. It is Labor Day weekend and 15,000 ravers have gathered for a 72-hour party. Heather falls in love with a college freshman who threatens to leave her with nothing but feelings of rejection and Kat is strung out on drugs. Experiencing firsthand the dangers of an unguarded heart, the girls are forced to reevaluate God’s true place in their lives,
In “The Last Dance,” also co-authored by Demoss, the students of Huntingdon Valley High are awaiting their prom. Heather Barnes has found the guy of her dreams, John Knox, a senior at a nearby high school whom she met in a Christian chat room. Although she has never actually met John in person, she plans to go to the prom with him. Her best friend Jodi Adams advises her not to go. Soon, Heather will discover John’s true identity. Will it be too late?
In “Black Friday,” Jodi Adams has landed her dream job as a summer intern at the local city paper. This summer job will launch her senior year with a bang as she goes after the hard angle on an investigative piece on area hospitals. But when Jodi’s reporting reveals information her employer doesn’t want to hear — much less publish — Jodi and Stan Taylor find the information trail vanishing before their eyes. Lives are at stake, and it looks like theirs could be next.
Summer movie series — Headquarters, Tuesdays, 6:30 p.m.; Tuesday, “The Neverending Story” (PG).
East branch, Mondays, 4 p.m.; Monday, “The Neverending Story” (PG).
South Regional, Wednesdays, 2 p.m.; Wednesday, “The Neverending Story” (PG).
Movies are free and all ages are welcome. Children should be accompanied by an adult. Movies run through Aug. 20. Free popcorn and lemonade.
Children’s summer reading program — Rowan Public Library’s “Dig Into Reading” runs through Thursday, Aug. 1 for children ages 12 months to rising fifth-graders.
July 29-Aug. 1: Blue Moon Puppets, Pea Pickin’ Tales.
Beneath the Surface teen summer reading: Thursday, 3:30-5 p.m., Masked Ball and Prize Raffle, at South Branch.
Book Bites Club: South (only), Tuesday, 6:30 p.m., “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein. Book discussion groups for adults and children meet the last Tuesday of each month. The group is open to the public and anyone is free to join at any time. There is a discussion of the book, as well as light refreshments at each meeting. For more information, please call 704-216-8229.
Displays for July: headquarters, Fiber Guild; South, water colors by Rowan Doll Society; East, photo display by Bonnie Cagle.
Literacy: Call the Rowan County Literacy Council at 704-216-8266 for more information on teaching or receiving literacy tutoring for English speakers or for those for whom English is a second language.

Comments

Comments closed.

High School

North Rowan romps into second round of football playoffs

Nation/World

FBI had interviewed former FedEx employee who killed eight

Crime

Gastonia man sentenced for crash into restaurant that killed his daughter, daughter-in-law

Nation/World

Some call for charges after video of police shooting 13-year-old in Chicago

Business

State unemployment rate falls to 5.2% in March

Coronavirus

NASCAR approach to virus vaccine varies greatly

News

Judge rejects Cherokee challenge against new casino in Kings Mountain

Elections

Jackson tops NC Senate fundraising; Walker coffers also full

Local

Kiwanis Pankcake Festival serves thousands of flapjacks for charity

Coronavirus

Rowan remains in state’s middle, yellow tier for COVID-19 community spread

Crime

Blotter: Man faces sexual exploitation charge for images on Instagram

News

Defendant convicted in attempted murder case on the run after fleeing from trial

Business

Downtown Gateway Building to be renamed for late Paul Fisher

Coronavirus

Rowan County COVID-19 data for April 15

Local

Rep. Warren’s bill would prohibit parking in electric vehicle charging stations

Local

Historic Preservation Commission approves Integro Technologies expansion, Paint the Pavement project

Education

Faith Academy, RSS will negotiate over what goes, stays in elementary school

Crime

Teacher killed in Alamance County shootout with Mexican drug cartel

Coronavirus

Bill would give more tax breaks on COVID-19 loans

Nation/World

No response as divers knock on capsized ship’s hull

Local

Quotes of the week

Crime

Blotter: Man found on church property with litany of drugs

Crime

Man charged in connection to 2019 overdose death

Business

‘It’s our big time’: Salisbury Farmers Market reopens Saturday